Your Club‎ > ‎News‎ > ‎

Laune Rangers elect Mary Quirke as Chairperson

posted 14 Jan 2017, 13:51 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 14 Jan 2017, 15:12 ]
From left:- Mary Quirke (Chairperson) & Sinead Pigott (Vice-Chairperson)

The reconvened Annual General Meeting of Laune Rangers GAA Club took place this evening.

At the meeting, Mary Quirke was elected to the Chair of the club, becoming the first female Chairperson in Laune Rangers’ 129 year history. Mary has been greatly involved in the Club’s Finance committee over the years, and will take on the role of Chair with great aplomb.

Also at the meeting, Sinead Pigott was elected to the role of Vice-Chairperson, also becoming the first female Vice-Chair in the Club’s history having previously served five years in the role of PRO.

Diarmuid O’Sullivan was elected as Joint-Treasurer. He has been active on the field with our Bord na nÓg footballers in recent years, and has also served on the Coaching Committee

Lawrence Laide comes on board as Registrar, having been involved on the Finance Committee in recent years. Outgoing Chairman Declan Falvey moves role and takes up the other vacant Registrar position.

Long term club servant Brian O’Shea takes up the role of Insurance Officer, having served in the role previously. He also is heavily involved in under-age coaching in the Club.

Angie Donoghue is the Laune Rangers Ladies Chairperson for 2017, having been elected at our Ladies AGM. Angie moved to Killorglin from Edenderry, Co Offaly five years ago and has previously served on the Coaching ticket of Underage Ladies teams.

The role of Children’s Officer remains unfilled. This will be made by appointment by the Executive. If you are interested in taking on this important role in the club, email here

We wish to thank the outgoing officers for all of their efforts throughout their respective tenures:- Maurice Corkery, Aidan Gannon, Mary Gallagher, Tim Cronin, Delores Foley, Glen Owens and Andrew Pigott.  We also thank Declan Falvey who, following a 5 year term as Chairman, has decided to continue to commit his time to the club as registrar.

The below is the Laune Rangers Executive for 2017

 Honourary President
Johnny Galvin 
 ChairpersonMary Quirke 
 Vice ChairpersonSinead Pigott 
 SecretaryLisa Brennan 
 TreasurerBrian Kissane 
 TreasurerDiarmuid O'Sullivan 
 RegistrarLawrence Laide 
 RegistrarDeclan Falvey 
 P.R.OAidan Clifford 
 Finance OfficerGer Counihan 
 Development OfficerJohn Quirke 
 Delegate to County BoardJohn Griffin 
 Mid Kerry Board DelegateJohn Clifford
 Child Protection Officerto be appointed by Executive 
 Player Welfare OfficerEoin Ferris 
 Insurance OfficerBrian O'Shea 
 Bord na nOg ChairmanJohn Clifford 
 Bord na nOg SecretaryPaudie Lynch 
 Ladies ChairpersonAngie Donoghue