Your Club‎ > ‎News‎ > ‎

Club Notes - 18/12/12

posted 18 Dec 2012, 08:41 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 18 Dec 2012, 08:47 ]
The Annual General Meeting of Laune Rangers GAA Club took place on Saturday last. The following officers were elected; President: Johnny Galvin, Chairman: Declan Falvey, Vice-Chairman: Barry Harmon, Secretary: Terence Houlihan, P.R.O.: Sinéad Pigott, Treasurers: Maurice Corkery, Eamonn Crowley & Gerard O'Sullivan, Registrars: Mary Gallagher & Eileen Clifford, Delegate to Co.Board: Vacant - to be filled at next Club Meeting, Development Officer: John Quirke, Insurance Officer: Brian O'Shea, Finance Officer: Ger Counihan, Child Protection Officer: Dolores Foley, Mid-Kerry Board Delegate: John Clifford, Player Welfare Officer: Eddie Birmingham.

Player Welfare Officer, Eddie Birmingham, outlined his duties to those present at the Club A.G.M. Eddie is not only there for players but all members and can give advice on Mental Health issues, Cyber-bullying, Concussion, First Aid, Over-training, Nutrition, Insurance issues, Injuries and injury prevention, GAA Jobbridge, gumshields, etc. Eddie is available, confidentially, at any time to anyone who is facing difficulties/problems. Eddie can be reached at

Do you want to get involved within the Club but don't have the time to commit to the main Executive. Do you have an interest in I.T., Finance & Fundraising, Coaching, etc. If so, why not get involved in one of the Club's Sub-Committees. Sub-Committees only meet a few times a year and are designed to target a specific area. There are a number of Sub-Committees within the Club - Finance Committee deals with fund-raising and new ideas, I.T. Committee looks after the website, social media, etc. Ladies Committee looks after the Ladies side of things, Lotto, Bord na nÓg, Field, etc. If you have a particular skill/interest and would like to put it to good use - drop me an email at and I'll let you know more.

It will be mandatory to use a mouthguard in all football matches and training sessions from January 1st 2013 - for all age grades up to and including Minor. Further information can be found on the Club website,

Laune Rangers Golf Society Christmas hamper. 1st Pierce Prendiville 37pts.2nd Charlie Buckley 36pts.3rd Tony Lyons 36pts. 4th Pat Mahony 35pts.5th Barry Harmon 35pts. 6th Gene Ahern 35pts.7th Mikey McKenna 35pts.8th Peter Fleming 32pts.9th Mike Moriarty 32pts. Sean Evans Trophy for Golfer of the Year: Pat Mahony. The incoming captain for 2013 is Mike "Squaw" Moriarty. Special thanks to Falvey's Bar, Batty Foley, Dungeel Motors and Pa Foley, Foley's Cash and Carry for sponsoring the outing.

Lotto draw for December 16th - Jackpot €2,200. Numbers drawn: 11 - 14 - 19 - 24. Consolation Prizes: €100 Catriona Sheehan, Iveragh Park, sold by Kerry. €50 Emer Brosnan, Dooks, sold by Pat Foley. Credit Union Vouchers: €50 Greta Ferguson, sold by Jimmy Galvin. €50 Patricia Murphy, sold by Colette. Next week's jackpot will be €2,400