Your Club‎ > ‎News‎ > ‎

Club News 8/9/19

posted 8 Sept 2019, 14:24 by Laune Rangers
The Laune Rangers Junior side that won on Friday evening

LOTTO: Lotto Results for Sunday September 8th 2019. There was no winner of the €9,800 jackpot. The numbers drawn were 05 – 21 – 25 – 30. The Consolation Prizes were won by the following: €100 F O'Brien - sold by Kerry; €50 Carmel Breen - sold at CYMS; €25 Margaret Byrne - sold at CYMS; €25 Eileen O'Sullivan - sold by Kerry. Next week’s Lotto Jackpot will be €10,000.

TICKET ALLOCATION: The draw for the club's allocation of tickets for the All Ireland Final replay takes place tomorrow (Monday) evening at 8:30pm in JP O'Sullivan Park. All members welcome to attend.

JUNIOR: Laune Rangers Junior team will play Finals in the next two Friday evenings, as victory over Rathmore on Friday evening saw them reach the Final of the McElligott Cup. With ten minutes played, the scores were level at 0-4 a piece as points were traded back and forth – Gabe Griffin, Cian O’Shea and Mike Frank Russell (2, 1 free) scoring for Rangers. However, the Laune edged ahead with a goal as Eamonn Carey put the final touch to the ball to send it to the Rathmore net. Rathmore responded well scoring two points, but a great point from a tight angle by Mike Frank Russell saw Rangers leading by 1-5 to 0-6 with a quarter played. Roan Moriarty added a point for Rangers before Mike Frank scored his team’s second goal – Eamonn Carey & Colm O’Shea both unselfishly passing across to a player in a better position for Russell to tap it in. Eamonn Carey, Roan Moriarty & Colm O’Shea pointed to cancel out two for Rathmore at the other end, but the visitors scored two points to leave the two goals separating the sides at the break. Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 2-10, Rathmore 0-10. Mike Frank Russell and Eoin Clifford scored points before Cian O’Shea scored three super points in succession from outside the 45 metre line. Mark O’Connor added another before Rathmore scored their first points of the half to leave Rangers ahead by 2-16 to 0-12 with a quarter to play. Mark O’Connor and Cian O’Shea added further points – O’Shea again from distance – and Rathmore scored the final three points of the game to reduce the margin between the sides. Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 2-18, Rathmore 0-15. Laune Rangers:- Jack Evans, Darragh O’Shea, Mark Healy, Darren O’Riordan, Aidan Cox, Neil O’Brien, James Hurley, Roan Moriarty (0-2), John Sheehan, Cian O’Shea (0-5), Colm O’Shea (0-1), Gabriel Griffin (0-1), Mark O’Connor (0-2), Michael F Russell (1-5, 1f), Eamonn Carey (1-1). Subs: Evan Madden, Eoin Clifford (0-1), Gavin O’Shea, James Lynch, Francis Russell, Ronan O’Shea, Stephen Sealey, Adrian Murphy, Morgan O’Sullivan, Paudie O’Shea.

JUNIOR FIXTURE: Laune Rangers take on Gneeveguilla in the McElligott Cup Final. The game takes place next Friday evening, September 13th at 6:45pm. Unfortunately, no venue has been confirmed at time of writing. Stay tuned to our social media channels for confirmation of this.

MINOR LADIES: Laune Rangers took on Castleisland Desmonds on Thursday evening in the County Minor Ladies Division 2A Final in the Kerry GAA Centre of Excellence in Currans. Rangers took an early lead with a penalty that was converted by Laura Brennan, before Nicole Moriarty pointed twice (1 free). Desmonds kicked two points but Laura Leslie added another for Rangers, who led by 1-3 to 0-2 after fifteen minutes. Desmonds – who also had players from Inbhear Scéine Gaels (Kenmare District) playing with them including current Kerry Senior Julie O’Sullivan – grew into the game and scored two goals in the second quarter along with a brace of points. Fodhla Houlihan, Nicole Moriarty (2 frees) and Nessa Healy pointed to see the sides level at the break. Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 1-7, Desmonds 2-4. Rangers saw points by Nessa Healy and Fodhla Houlihan nullified by Desmonds before the Castleisland/Kenmare side scored their third goal to take the lead. Rangers responded with a well taken goal by Nessa Healy, but Desmonds hit back for a fourth goal and scored a point shortly after to lead by 4-7 to 2-9 with a quarter to play. Rangers closed the gap with a fantastic goal by Nicole Moriarty, but Desmonds closed the game out by scoring the final two points of the game. Final Score:- Laune Rangers 3-9, Desmonds 4-9. Laune Rangers:- Lucy Cahill, Laura Brennan (1-0), Rachael Evans, Alanna Dolan, Orla O’Brien, Orla Dunphy, Christina O’Brien, Andrea Nolan, Kayleigh McGlashan, Laura Leslie (0-1), Nicole Moriarty (1-4), Hannah McGeever, Amy Dunphy, Fodhla Houlihan (0-2), Nessa Healy (1-2). Subs:- Grace Garland, Claire Fealey, Milly Foley, Aoife Nash Freeman.

UNDER 14 GIRLS: The first round of the East Kerry Under 14 competition was played on Sunday evening in Kilcummin. Half time Kilcummin 1-4, Laune Rangers 1-3. Full Time Score:- Kilcummin 5-6, Laune Rangers 2-9. Laune Rangers Team:- Rebecca Purcell, Clodagh Lynch, Lara Hoare, Olivia Moriarty, Eabha Dolan, Laura Patton, Niamh Moriarty, Aoife Cleary, Sophia Doherty, Isabella Doherty, Sara Leslie, Erin Murphy, Sarah Kennedy, Amy Kelly, Grainne Jones. Subs: Aisling O’Connor, Áine Nash Freeman, Natasha Poff.

FUNDRAISING RAFFLE: Laune Rangers are running a fundraising raffle, with a prize of 2 Stand Tickets to the All Ireland Football Final – along with €200 cash and two day return coach tickets – to be won. Each entry costs just €3. Draw cards are available in various shops/pubs in Killorglin or alternatively, entries can be made online

KERRY: The very Best of Luck to Peter Keane & our Kerry team in next Saturday’s All Ireland Final replay. Good Luck especially to Padraig Murphy, who is part of Peter Keane’s coaching team and to Peter Crowley who – despite his injury – plays a huge part in the squad.