Your Club‎ > ‎News‎ > ‎

Club News 23/11/14

posted 23 Nov 2014, 15:00 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 23 Nov 2014, 15:17 ]

above: Pa Joy (14) sticks the ball into the bottom corner for a goal against Glenbeigh/Glencar in the Mid Kerry SFC, assisted by Tommy O'Callaghan (19).  Maurice Foley (8) & Michael O'Sullivan look on.

LOTTO: Lotto results for Sunday 23rd November. There was no winner of the €6,800 jackpot. The numbers drawn were 12 – 18 – 20 – 22. The Consolation Prize winners were as follows: €100 Barth Moriarty, Standing Order. €50 Paul Browne, sold by Margaret Browne. CU Vouchers of €25: Denis Diggin, standing order & Matt Cahillane, sold by Colette . Next Week’s jackpot will be €7,000.

STRICTLY COME DANCING: Laune Rangers Strictly Come Dancing takes place this Friday November 28th and Saturday November 29th. Our Dancers have been practicing hard and they are still looking for your votes!! A Vote costs only €2 & all votes will be entered into a draw for a Monster Christmas Hamper. Tickets to the show itself will cost €10 – Saturday’s show is now sold out & Friday’s show is selling fast. Visit or phone the CYMS 066 9762053 if interested in seeing this year’s show.

SENIORS: Glorious sunshine greeted Laune Rangers and Glenbeigh/Glencar on Saturday afternoon, when they met in Round 1 of the Mid Kerry Senior Championship in JP O’Sullivan Park, Killorglin. Glenbeigh/Glencar’s involvement in the latter stages of the Junior Championship, as well as their heavy contribution to the County Finalist Mid Kerry side, made the visitors the bookies’ favourites leading into game but were missing Jason McKenna & the suspended Joe McGillicuddy. Laune Rangers were missing their All Star Peter Crowley, as well as injured John O’Shea. Glenbeigh/Glencar opened the scoring through Gavan O’Grady in the 2nd minute, but John Tyther levelled matters a minute later with a fisted point. Darran O’Sullivan put Glenbeigh/Glencar ahead again but Laune Rangers then took control of the game. Mike Frank Russell pointed a free to equalize, & points from Pa Joy (2) & John Tyther gave Rangers the lead by 0-5 to 0-2 after a quarter of the game. Rangers drove on from this and further points from Ryan Keane, Russell (free) and Tyther brought the difference between the sides to 6 points. Darran O’Sullivan kicked a great point with the outside of his boot but John Tyther added his fourth point of the half with a well taken score of his own. Unfortunately for Glenbeigh (and possibly for Kerry), Darran O’Sullivan fell with what looked like a serious injury & on the half time whistle, he was stretchered to the dressing room. The half time score was Laune Rangers 0-9, Glenbeigh/Glencar 0-3. Glenbeigh began the 2nd half much like they did the first, as Gavan O’Grady pointed for the visitors, but then some great work from Pa Joy saw him beat Fergal Griffin in a tight space near the goal line, & he was hauled to the ground just outside the square by substitute Daniel Murphy. The Glenbeigh/Glencar man, who had only been introduced before half time, received his marching orders with a black card. Mike Frank Russell slotted the resulting free, and this was added to by Shane Daly & John Tyther to put Rangers 0-12 to 0-4 ahead after 36 minutes. Glenbeigh/Glencar were given a glimmer of hope when first Kieran Courtney & then Tommy Cahill (free) pointed to reduce the deficit. However, Laune Rangers effectively ended the contest when Pa Joy found the net with a great finish after some excellent link-up play between the full-forward and substitute Tommy O’Callaghan. This put Laune Rangers ahead by 1-12 to 0-6 with a quarter to play. Danny O’Sullivan pointed for the visitors but the Rangers did not relent, and points from John Sheehan, Ryan Keane, Pa Joy and a free from John Tyther reinforced the home side’s superiority. Bernard Murphy and Gavan O’Grady (free) put some more consolation on the scoreboard from Glenbeigh/Glencar but with the last kick of the game, Chris Riordan pointed for Rangers. The score at full time: Laune Rangers 1-17, Glenbeigh/Glencar 0-9. Laune Rangers can only be delighted with the performance as 7 different players got on the scoreboard, including all three half backs. However it was the full forward line that stole the show, in particular the younger duo of Pa Joy & John Tyther. Joy, with 1-3, was dangerous every time he touched the ball & took his goal very well, while Minor John Tyther’s tally of six points (five from play) was outstanding from a player who has played much of his football life behind midfield. Laune Rangers moves on to face Keel next weekend in the Semi Final. Laune Rangers Team: Tony Lyons, Kieran Crowley, Johnny Carey, Kevin O’Sullivan, Chris Riordan (0-1), John Sheehan(0-1), Ryan Keane (0-2), Maurice Foley, Padraig Murphy, Colm O’Shea, Shane McSweeney, Shane Daly (0-1), Michael F Russell (0-3f), Pa Joy (1-3), John Tyther (0-6, 1f). Subs Used: Michael O’Sullivan, Tommy O’Callaghan, Keith Sheehan, Shane O’Connor, David Costello, Cian Clifford.

Laune Rangers face Keel away in Keel next Sunday November 30th in the Mid Kerry Semi Final. Throw in at 2pm. Please come out to support our team.

SCÓR: Well done to the quiz team of Oisin Daly, Darragh O’Shea, Hannah Joy & Alice Joy who did the club proud in the County Final of Tráth na gCeist on Friday last.

RACE NIGHT: Our Annual Race Night takes place in Bunkers Bar on Sunday, December 28th. The Sale of Horses has now begun, with each nag costing €90. Each horse will have a named Owner, Trainer & Jockey, so it provides an opportunity for a syndicate to get involved! There will be ten races with ten horses in each race, with prizes for Race winners & a winners race at the end of the night.. There is an added bonus to proceedings this year, as we will include a Best Dressed Lady Competition, with €500 of prizes to be won. If you are interested in buying a horse, call to Bunkers Bar for an Application Form. Alternatively, contact

AGM: Laune Rangers AGM will take place on Saturday December 13th at 7:30pm at our clubrooms in JP O’Sullivan Park. Nomination and motion papers can be collected from Terence Houlihan & Declan Falvey, and must be returned by 5pm on Friday 5th December.