Your Club‎ > ‎News‎ > ‎

Club News 19/8/18

posted 19 Aug 2018, 15:52 by Laune Rangers
Laune Rangers Under 8 Girls at the Fossa Blitz on Saturday

LOTTO 14th AUG: Lotto Results for Tuesday 14th August 2018. There was no winner of the €9,200 jackpot. The numbers drawn were 01 – 18 – 21 – 22. The Consolation Prizes were won by the following: €100 John O'Shea - sold by Kerry; €50 Scott Gilligan - sold by Kerry; €25 James McGillicuddy - sold by Bunkers; €25 Pat O'Sullivan - sold at Puck.

LOTTO 19th AUG: Lotto Results for Sunday 19th August 2018. There was no winner of the €9,400 jackpot. The numbers drawn were 03 – 06 – 09 – 23. The Consolation Prizes were won by the following: €100 Anne Doyle - sold by Margaret Browne; €50 Seamus Griffin - sold by Pat Pigott; €25 Ann (Dem) Sullivan - sold by Falveys; €25 Imelda O'Sullivan - sold by O'Grady's Bar. Next week’s Lotto Jackpot will be €9,600.

SENIOR: It was a disappointing day for Laune Rangers on Sunday afternoon, as results elsewhere meant that a convincing win away to Finuge was not enough to save the club from relegation to Division 4 of the County Football League. Final Score:- Finuge 1-6, Laune Rangers 2-16. Read the full report here

MINOR CHAMPIONSHIP: Laune Rangers have left the County Minor Championship at the Quarter Final stage following a disappointing loss to St Brendans in Killorglin on Tuesday evening last. The return of Eoin O’Sullivan was a welcome sight following broken collarbone that kept him side-lined for three months. However, the absence of Gearóid Hassett was a major blow for Rangers as the young forward who has lit up the Minor grade this year missed out through illness. Kevin Fitzpatrick was also a big loss following his season ending knee injury earlier in the Championship. Laune Rangers were very slow off the mark on the evening as St Brendans led by 0-3 to nil after ten minutes, with Fergal O’Brien, Jason Mortimer (free) and Paul Lenihan (free) scoring for the visitors. However, Mark O’Connor soon had Rangers level as he tapped in from close range for a goal following a nice team move. St Brendans continued to dominate on the scoreboard as Rangers were unable to convert possession to scoring chances. Brendans pointed five times in succession through Joe Lenihan (2), Paul Lenihan, Jason Mortimer & Mikey Kelliher, but Rangers hit the net for a second time as Roan Moriarty smashed the ball to the net to reduce the gap to two points. Unfortunately, the pendulum of momentum swung the way of St Brendans again before the break, as what looked like a defensive foul in front of the visitors goal went unpunished and the resulting break by Brendans swept downfield resulting in a penalty for the Tralee District. Mikey Kelliher converted the spot kick to leave the visitors ahead by five at the short whistle. Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 2-0, St Brendans 1-8. St Brendans notched up another five unanswered points through Darragh Courtney, Kevin O’Connor, Jason Mortimer, Mikey Kelliher (free) and Dara Reen to put the visiting side 10 ahead with ten minutes to play. However, Rangers never gave up and hit the net for a third time through Mark O’Connor before David Mangan scored a fantastic 45’. Mark O’Connor completed his hat-trick for a fourth Rangers goal to leave Rangers trailing by three points and looking for the all-important equalizing goal. St Brendans goalkeeper Brian O’Regan saved from Rangers time and again – had Rangers known they would have as many chances to score they may have taken points reduce the deficit. However, it was not to be for Rangers and a final pointed free by Joe Lenihan gave St Brendans safe passage through to the County Minor Semi Finals. Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 4-1, St Brendans 1-14. Laune Rangers:- Jack Evans, Seán Cleary, Seán Arthurs, Evan Madden, Daragh O’Connor (capt), David Mangan (0-1), Conor Murphy, Roan Moriarty (1-0), Eoin O’Sullivan, Ronan O’Shea, Dáire Cleary, Matthew Leslie, Shane Doona, Eoin Clifford, Mark O’Connor (3-0). Subs: Oisin Daly, Gabriel Griffin, Rory O’Connor, James Hurley. St Brendans:- Brian O’Regan (Ardfert), Padraig White (John Mitchels), Fiachra Ennis (Ardfert), Seán Hamilton (Churchill), Kevin O’Connor (Churchill) (0-1), Damien Bourke (Na Gaeil), Paul Lenihan (Churchill) (0-2), Shane McCarthy (John Mitchels), Darragh Courtney (Ardfert) (0-1), Joe Lenihan (Churchill) (0-3), Jason Mortimer (Churchill) (0-3), Tadgh O’Loinsigh (Na Gaeil), Liam O’Donnell (Churchill), Michael Kelliher (John Mitchels – capt) (1-4), Fergal O’Brien (St Pats) (0-1). Sub: Dara Reen (Na Gaeil) (0-1).

UNDER 14 FIXTURE: Laune Rangers play Kerins O’Rahillys in the Central Region Under 14 Division 1 Final. The game is scheduled for Wednesday, August 22nd. Venue and time not confirmed at time of writing. Check social media channels for confirmation.

UNDER 8 GIRLS: Well Done to the Under 8 Girls who took part in a Blitz in Fossa on Saturday morning. They played a number of matches and showed how much they have developed with all putting in a great display. Well done and thanks to Fossa for organizing a enjoyable day.

KERRY SOUTH: Well done to the Laune Rangers players who represented Kerry South Under 14 and Under 15s on Saturday. The Under 15s contained Calum Moriarty, Callum Russell, Matt Reenstierna and Darragh Mangan, while Ciarán O’Sullivan, Ryan Diggin, Eoghan Hassett, Jack O’Sullivan and Tom Whittleton represented the Under 14s who beat Cork South and Mayo in an invitational tournament in Mallow.