Your Club‎ > ‎News‎ > ‎

Club News 16/3/14

posted 17 Mar 2014, 10:02 by Laune Rangers

Laune Rangers celebrated their 125th anniversary on Friday night last in the CYMS Hall in Killorglin.  The official proceedings were expertly compéred by Radio Kerry’s Gary O’Sullivan and a number of awards & presentations were handed out.  Jerome Conway launched the Club History which will be made available online through the club’s website  This will be a living document – one that can be added to over the years to ensure that it will always be current and accurate.  The 1989 Co Championship winning team took to stage & Noel O’Mahony was on hand to make two special presentations on behalf of the club to the families of two deceased members of the that team.  Pat McKenna was represented by his brother Paul, and Tom Johnston was represented by his son Cormac.  Also, special mention was given to another key part of that team of the late 80s and 90s – the late Mike O’Donnell who was a very important supporter of that team and many teams after it.  Chris McGillycuddy of ‘’ was on hand to present a new set of jerseys to the Development Manager Joe Hayes.  That was followed by an address by the Chairman of Kerry County Board Patrick O’Sullivan, who spoke of the Laune Rangers men that served on Kerry County Board and his association with them.  The Club’s four All-Stars were honoured.  Bart Moriarty was on hand to make the presentations to Michael Francis Russell, Liam Hassett, & Edel Murphy.  Sarah Houlihan is currently in Hong Kong with the All Star team so her cousin & Club Secretary Terence accepted the award on her behalf.  The 2013 Players of the Year were announced as follows: Minor – Kevin O’Sullivan, B Team – David Coffey, Ladies – Amy Foley, Senior – Shane McSweeney.  The Club’s Senior Ladies Team was then presented to the audience.  This Team won the 2013 County League and Championship double and they were each given a well deserved applause on to stage.  Well done all.  The club then inducted its first member into the Hall of Fame – Jimmy Galvin.  Jimmy passed away on 8th February but had been chosen for the honour before his passing.  He was a huge part of the Club’s fundraising efforts for 50 years and raised funds for the purchase and development of our pitch at JP O’Sullivan Park.  His service to the club lasted up to 2 weeks before he died as a member of the club’s Lotto Team.  His hard work and his gentle nature will be missed by all at the club.  Ar Dheis Dé go raibh a anam.  The highlight of the night of course was the announcement of the Team of the Half Century – the Best Team of XV to have lined out for Laune Rangers since 1963. 

The Team is as follows: 1 Peter Lyons, 2 Mike Hassett (jnr), 3 Paudie Sheahan, 4 Seamus Curran, 5 Pat Ahern (RIP), 6 Tom Johnston (RIP), 7 John Sheehan, 8 Jimmy Lucey (RIP), 9 Pierce Prendiville, 10 Gerard Murphy, 11 Timmy Fleming, 12 Joe Shannon, 13 Michael Francis Russell, 14 Liam Hassett, 15 Billy O’Shea.

The announcement of the Team brought an end to the official proceedings but not to the night itself.  The Bar was reopened and food was served before the band ‘Beautiful Noise’ helped the crowd dance away the night.  Laune Rangers would like to thank all who organized and contributed to the night as well as those who researched and put together the photo & memorabilia displays.  The club would also like to thank all those who made the effort to attend on the night, especially to those who travelled long distances.  It was the great turnout that made the night such a success.  On Saturday, Jerome Conway hosted an afternoon of nostalgia, music and song in the now closed Coffey’s pub, the premises where the club was founded.  The Killorglin & District Pipe Band marched in the bridge to open the doors of the historic premises.  Again, Laune Rangers thank all who attended and to the pipe band who took time out of their busy St Patrick’s weekend schedule to add to the event.

SENIORS:         Our Senior side travelled to Milltown/Castlemaine on Sunday last in the Mid Kerry League.  They unfortunately lost on a scoreline of 1-14 to 0-10. Milltown/Castlemaine had a strong team out against a young Rangers XV. Good first half performance had us leading by a point at half time, but Milltown/Castlemaine pulled clear in the second half with some great long range scores. Laune Rangers Team (and scorers): 1 Jason Browne, 2 Tommy O'Callaghan, 3 Jonathan Carey, 4 Kevin O'Sullivan, 5 Aaron Gamble, 6 Chris Riordan, 7 Michael O'Sullivan, 8 Shane Daly, 9 Padraig Murphy, 10 Liam Quirke, 11 Shane McSweeney (0-3), 12 Ryan Keane, 13 John O'Shea (0-2), 14 Pa Joy (0-3), Colm O'Shea (0-2). Subs: Keith Sheehan for Gamble & Vinnie Costello for Browne.

Their next fixture is the first Round of the County League, a home tie versus Spa next Sunday March 23rd at 3pm.  This is a big season for our team as they try to bounce back to Division 1 and all support would be very much appreciated.

LADIES:  The County Senior Champions & League holders began the defence of their League title on Sunday with a home tie against Listowel Emmetts.  In an impressive performance, they won on a scoreline of 3-13 to 2-9.  Team: Sarah O’Connor, Maura O’Sullivan, Mary-Ann Doherty, Aoife Johnston, Johanna O’Callaghan, Majella Browne, Amy Foley (1-3), Sarah Jane Joy, Cliona Coffey, Patrice Dennehy(0-4), Norina O’Callaghan, Edel Murphy (0-2), Meadhbh Johnston (2-4).  Subs: Ciara O’Sullivan, Cliodhna McSweeney, Noreen O’Sullivan, Klara O’Sullivan, Emma Breen.  Congrats Ladies.  Their next fixture is a home tie against Castleisland on 13th April.

MINORS:         Our Minors travelled to Beaufort in the Co League on Saturday.  They unfortunately lost on a scoreline of 3-8 to 1-10.  Team & scorers:- 1 Robert Lynch, 2 Pierce Tyther , 3 Neil O’Shea, 4 George Evans, 5 Gearoid Joy, 6 Aidan Cox (1-0), 7 Ronan Prendeville, 8 Daniel Macbeth (0-3), 9 John Tyther (0-2), 10 Daniel Whittleton, 11 David Costello (0-1), 12 Jamie Clifford (0-2), 13 Patrick Daly, 14 John Chris O’Brien (0-2), 15 Manus Gallagher.  Subs: Jack O’Sullivan, Paddy Collins.

Their next fixture is a home tie against Castleisland Desmonds, on the 4th April.

LOTTO:                        Sunday 16th March: There was no winner of this week’s €2,400 jackpot.  The numbers drawn were 15 – 16 – 20 – 24.  The consolation prizes were as follows: €100 Kathy Cronin, sold by Darragh O’Sullivan.  € 50 Margaret O’Shea, sold by Mike O’Shea.  Credit Union Vouchers of €50:  Carmel O’Brien sold by Colette, & Pat O’Shea Sunhill sold at CYMS.  Next week’s jackpot will be €2,600.  March Lotto Team: Patrick Pigott, Joe Crowley, Brian O'Shea, Adrian O'Connor.

SCÓR NA BPAISTI:       The Mid-Kerry Final of Scór na bPáistí will be held in the CYMS on Friday 21st March.  The Quiz will be at 6.30pm and the other competitions will begin at 7.30pm.  We wish the best of luck to the young people who will be representing Laune Rangers on the night.  Figure Dancing:  Liam Healy, Ronan Fitzpatrick, Nessa Healy, Leah Foran, Alannah Doona, Kayleigh McGlashan.  Solo Singing:  Liam Healy.  Instrumental Music:  Stevie O’Sullivan, Orlaith O’Sullivan, Niamh Doyle, Milly Foley.  Quiz:  Cormac Doyle, Hugh Fitzpatrick, Ronan Fitzpatrick Hannah Joy