Seniors vs Glenbeigh/Glencar - Mid-Kerry League - 16/03/13

posted 20 Mar 2013, 13:57 by Laune Rangers
Mid-Kerry Senior League – Saturday 16th March 2013 – J.P. O’Sullivan Park, Killorglin

Laune Rangers 0-11

Glenbeigh/Glencar 0-12

Top of the league going into the game Laune Rangers were looking to maintain their unbeaten run when they hosted Glenbeigh/Glencar on Saturday afternoon last in the J.P. O’Sullivan Park. Glenbeigh/Glencar had other ideas however and went on the secure the two points to make for an interesting final weekend of fixtures.

Glenbeigh/Glencar got off to the better start with a well taken point from Colin McGillycuddy. Gavan O’Grady made a welcome return for the visitors soon after when he put Glenbeigh/Glencar 3 points to the good with about 5 minutes of the opening half played. It took until the 8th minute of the half before Laune Rangers opened their account with Jack O’Connor pointing for the home side.

Glenbeigh/Glencar replied through the boot of Sean Roche who gave Glenbeigh/Glencar a 3-point lead once more. Laune Rangers’ sharp-shooter Kevin Flynn closed Glenbeigh/Glencar’s lead somewhat to let the game 0-04 to 0-02 mid-way through the opening half.

Both free-takers swapped points in the minutes that followed with Gavan O’Grady pointing for the visitors and Kevin Flynn splitting the posts for the home side to let the game 0-05 to 0-03 in Glenbeigh/Glencar’s favour with 18 minutes of the first half played.

Rangers upped a gear at that stage and points from Shane McSweeney and Chris Riordan saw the game level at 5 points apiece in the 23rd minute. Laune Rangers registered 3 scoreable wides in the minutes that followed, something they would rue at the end.

With two minutes of the first half to play, Glenbeigh/Glencar’s Danny O’Sullivan showed he was alert when he punished a Laune Rangers mistake to give Glenbeigh/Glencar back the lead. This lead was short-lived however the ever reliable Kevin Flynn kicked over a free on the stroke of half time to let the score at the short whistle: Laune Rangers 0-06 to 0-06 Glenbeigh/Glencar.

Rangers’ Kevin Flynn got the second half scoring underway with a point in the opening minutes. Glenbeigh/Glencar answered through Colin McGillicuddy soon after to level the game once more at 0-07 each.

Laune Rangers had a goal chance in the 8th minute of the second half when Kevin Flynn attempted to palm the ball into the back of the Glenbeigh/Glencar net but was stopped by the crossbar. Laune Rangers pushed ahead with points from Kevin Flynn (free) and Eoghan O’Sullivan saw Laune Rangers lead 0-09 to 0-07 with 11 minutes on the clock.

Bernard Murphy popped up for his first of the afternoon but this was cancelled out by a Jack O’Connor shortly after and it was 0-10 to 0-08 in the home side’s favour. It was Glenbeigh/Glencar’s turn to notch up the wides in the following minutes but a well take Steven O’Sullivan point closed the lead to the minimum mid-way through the second half, 0-10 to 0-09.

Laune Rangers midfielder, Shane McSweeney was on hand to put two between the sides once more when he pointed after Kevin Flynn worked hard to dispossess the visitors.

Glenbeigh/Glencar to their credit refused to give up and continued to push forward on the Laune Rangers goal. Points from Colin McGillycuddy and Danny O’Sullivan saw the game level once more with less than 5 minutes of the second half remaining.

Bernard ‘Spud’ Murphy scored his second, and as it turned out to be – the winner, with two minutes remaining to put the visitors back in front. Laune Rangers had two chances to equalise in the closing seconds of the game but both trailed wide. Full-time score: Laune Rangers 0-11 to 0-12 Glenbeigh/Glencar.


Laune Rangers: Jason Browne, Chris Riordan, Jeremy O’Callaghan, Tommy O’Callaghan, Kieran Crowley, Geoffrey Mahony, Michael O’Sullivan, Maurice Foley, Shane McSweeney, Johnny Carey, Eoghan O’Sullivan, Jack O’Connor, Kevin Flynn, John Sheehan, Pa Sheehan. Subs: Shane O’Connor for P.Sheehan

Glenbeigh/Glencar: P.O’Sullivan, D.Murphy, K.Doyle, K.Courtney, S.Roche 0-1, P.Kilkenny, B.Murphy 0-2, C.McGillycuddy 0-3, J Hoare, D.O’Sullivan 0-2, S.O’Sullivan 0-1, R.O’Connor, J.Griffin, G.O’Grady 0-3, J.O’Shea. Subs: T.Cahill for G.O’Grady. J.Brosnan for Pa Kilkenny, J.Roche for J Griffin.