Laune Rangers vs Dr Crokes - Co Senior Club Championship Rd2 - 27th April 2014

posted 15 May 2014, 16:11 by Laune Rangers

Laune Rangers took on Dr Crokes in a sunny JP O’Sullivan Park, Killorglin on Sunday afternoon. Rangers got off to a flying start in the opening 10 minutes and scored 4 long range points in that period from Peter Crowley, Pa Joy, Shane Daly and Mike Frank Russell while the sole response from the visitors was a free from Daithi Casey. The Crokes did find their feet though and points from Kieran O’Leary, Brian Looney and another from Casey had the scores level 0-4 a piece on the quarter mark. Mike Frank then restored the Rangers shortly after and, after McSweeney & Looney had exchanged points, Russell pointed a free for Rangers with the last kick of the half to give the hosts a two point lead at the break: Laune Rangers 0-7, Dr Crokes 0-5.

Crokes came out a rejuvenated side in the second half, & scored 4 unanswered points in the opening minutes to take a two point lead before Shane McSweeney got one back for Rangers. That would prove to be Rangers final score. Shane Myers and Fionn Fitzgerald pointed to put Crokes 0-11 to 0-8 ahead with a quarter of the game to go & that is how it would stay until the 57th minute. The County Champions spent the final minutes putting some gloss on the scoreboard. Daithi Casey found the net for a goal & Chris Brady, Kieran O’Leary, Jamie Doolan, & Micheal Byrnes all pointed to make the final score Laune Rangers 0-8, Dr Crokes 1-15.


Laune Rangers: Jason Browne, Keith Sheehan, Johnny Carey, Michael O’Sullivan, Peter Crowley (0-1), John Sheehan, Kieran Crowley, Padraig Murphy, Shane Daly (0-1), Ryan Keane, Shane McSweeney (0-2), Liam Quirke, Colm O’Shea, Michael F Russell (0-3), Pa Joy (0-1). Subs: John Tyther, Daniel Macbeth, Chris Riordan, Shane O’Connor, Tommy O’Callaghan.

Dr Crokes: Conor Loughlin, Kieran Ward, Eoin Brosnan, John Payne, Shane Doolan, Fionn Fitzgerald (0-1), Shane Myers (0-1), Johnny Buckley (0-1), Michael Milner, Brian Looney (0-4), Daithi Casey (1-2), Alan O’Sullivan, Kieran O’Leary (0-2), Chris Brady (0-2), Gavin O’Shea. Subs: Jamie Doolan (0-1), David O’Leary, Micheal Byrnes (0-1).