Laune Rangers v Gneeveguilla, County League Div 2, 18th May 2014

posted 18 May 2014, 09:41 by Laune Rangers

Laune Rangers 0-11, Gneeveguilla 1-10

Gneeveguilla made the trip to a sunny Killorglin on Sunday to take on Laune Rangers in the County League. Laune Rangers were without their captain Johnny Carey (injured) & Peter Crowley (Kerry) while the visitors were without their injured County Junior player Michael Murphy (one of two with same name in panel). Gneeveguilla got off to the brighter start when, after Mike Frank Russell had given Rangers the lead with a free, a pinpoint pass from Fergus McAuliffe found DJ O’Connor who blasted past Jason Browne for a goal. DJ O’Connor followed this up with a super point from the right sideline and a pointed free before Russell struck a 45 over the bar & Colm O’Shea got a great point from the left sideline for Rangers. DJ added to his tally again with another free to leave a goal between the sides after a quarter; Laune Rangers 0-3, Gneeveguilla 1-3.
Points from Pa Joy and Russell (free) for Rangers were cancelled out by Padraig O’Connor and Michael Murphy points for the visitors. Russell looked to have been fouled when through on goal but the whistle didn’t blow but shortly afterwards, with virtually the last kick of the half, Russell pointed from a free to leave Gneeveguilla leading at the break; Laune Rangers 0-6, Gneeveguilla 1-5.

Rangers came out a refreshed side after the break, and 4 Mike Frank Russell points – 3 from frees – gave Rangers a two point lead with ten minutes to go. Gneeveguilla goalkeeper Patrick O’Riordan pulled off a fantastic save from Russell to stop a sure goal & keep his side within reach, and that proved to be crucial as Donie O’Connor scored two points in quick succession bring his side level. Kevin Flynn scored a great point with the from a tight angle with the outside of his boot to give Rangers the lead again, but Gneeveguilla were not to be denied and two frees by DJ O’Connor and another from Donie O’Connor gave the visitors the win. The final score was Laune Rangers 0-11, Gneeveguilla 1-10.

The O’Connors DJ & Donie were the outstanding for the away side with 1-5 & 0-3 respectively, while Laune Rangers mercurial Mike Frank Russell’s individual tally of 0-8 proved he is still among the elite of Kerry club football.

Laune Rangers Team: Jason Browne, Chris Riordan, Kieran Crowley, Keith Sheehan, Ryan Keane, John Sheehan, John Tyther, Padraig Murphy, Shane McSweeney, Daniel Macbeth, Kevin Flynn (0-1), Pa Joy (0-1), Colm O’Shea (0-1), Shane Daly, Michael F Russell (0-8, 7f). Subs: Geoffrey O’Mahony, David Costello

Gneeveguilla Team: Patrick O’Riordan, Timmy O’Leary, John Sheehan, Padraig O’Sullivan, Philip Cremin, Fergus McAuliffe, Danny O’Connor, John Paul Brosnan, PJ Murphy, Michael Murphy (0-1), Padraig O’Connor (0-1), Donie O’Connor (0-3), DJ O’Connor (1-5), Don Murphy, Sean O’Connor. Subs: Padraig Doyle, Eamon Herlihy, DJ Murphy.