Laune Rangers 'B' v Asdee. County League Div 5 - 26/7/14

posted 26 Jul 2014, 14:02 by Laune Rangers

Laune Rangers 1-6, Asdee 3-15

On a beautiful summer evening in Killorglin, Laune Rangers hosted Asdee in a Division 5 County League encounter. Asdee got off to a much brighter start with points from Mike Breen and an Eoin Tydings free, but really took control of the game when the wing forward Breen benefitted from the removal of the square ball rule & got his fist to a high ball for a goal. Gary Flynn registered Rangers first score with a pointed free before Asdee responded with another Mike Breen point and Eoin Kennedy free. Rangers finally put some flowing football together though, and following a great run from half back by David Coffey, Gary Flynn blasted into the roof of the net to bring the deficit back to 4 points (Rangers 1-1, Asdee 1-5) after 15 minutes. Asdee had a goal chance when a shot by corner back Con Carmody was forced over his own bar by Rangers defender Pa Sheehan. Eoin Kennedy, Darren Russell and Mike Breen all added points for Asdee before Laune Rangers stand-in goalkeeper (usually a forward) Eamon Carey made a great save, only for the rebound to fall to Eoin Kennedy who successfully tapped it in for the North Kerry men. Laune Rangers managed one score before the break with a Gary Flynn free, to make the score at half time; Laune Rangers ‘B’ 1-2, Asdee 2-8.

Gavin O’Shea opened the second half with a well taken point for the home side, before Eoin Tydings and Darren Russell pointed for Asdee. Rangers responded again with points from David Coffey and a fantastic free from 55 metres by midfielder Maurice Foley. Asdee full forward Eoin Tydings found the net for Asdee’s third goal of the game, while Maurice Foley hit another long range point – this time from play – for what proved to be Rangers final score. Asdee added points from Darren Russell, Mike Breen Eoin Tydings, & Eoin Kennedy (2, 1f). In all, it was a comfortable win for Asdee. Final Score: Laune Rangers ‘B’ 1-6, Asdee 3-15.

Laune Rangers ‘B’: Eamon Carey, Stuart Delaney, Ger O’Sullivan, Neil O’Shea, David Coffey (0-1), Lar O’Connor, Pa Sheahan, George Evans, Maurice Foley (0-2), Gavin O’Shea (0-1), Paudie O’Shea, Gary Flynn (1-2), Jerome Houlihan, Andrew O’Reilly, Ethan Diggin. Subs: Jack Smith, Liam Hurley.

Asdee: Conor Coughlan, Con Carmody (0-1), Sean Keane, Brian Coughlan, Kieran Kelly, Noel Long, Michael Tydings John Doran, Padraig Ruddle, Mike Breen (1-4), Darren Russell (0-3), Dara Keane, Charlie Dalton, Eoin Tydings(1-3), Eoin Kennedy (1-4). Subs: David O’Connor, Denny Dalton, Barry O’Donoghue, Padraig Buckley, Paul O’Carroll.