Development Team vs Kilgarven. Co League Division 5 - 23rd March 2014

posted 15 May 2014, 16:06 by Laune Rangers

Laune Rangers ‘B’ 0-9 , Kilgarvan 1-13

Laune Rangers B took on Kilgarvan on Sunday in the opening day of County League Division 5.  On a sunny afternoon in Killorglin, the first half was a very even contest.  The first chance didn’t come until 5 minutes into the game, when Rangers goalkeeper Vinnie Costello pulled off a point blank save from Kilgarvan’s Patrick O’Shea but the ball rolled out for a 45.  That 45 was taken quickly with a short pass to O’Shea who slotted the ball over the bar for the opening point.  Jack O’Connor levelled up matters for Rangers before O’Shea pointed with a free and Timmy Healy doubled the advantage to put Kilgarvan 0-3 to 0-1 ahead after 15 minutes.  Jack O’Connor then pointed with a free of his own before he levelled the game with one from play.  Points were exchanged between Conor Shorthall (Kilgarvan) and Eamon Carey (Rangers) to make the score 0-4 each at half time.

The Second half was very much dominated by the visitors.  Patrick O’Shea scored 4 points for Kilgarvan, while Eamon Carey scored two of his own for Rangers to put the score at 0-8 to 0-6 in favour of the visitors with 15 minutes to play.  Kilgarvan then transferred their dominance of the game on to the scoreboard with a goal from substitute Florence O’Sullivan, and Shorthall added a point shortly afterwards.  Jack O’Connor pointed for Rangers to leave them trailing 1-9 to 0-7 with 12 minutes to play but O’Shea quickly cancelled it out with another point.  Carey & O’Connor added their 4th and 5th points of the day respectively for Rangers, but the visitors then drove home their dominance with 3 final points -  Patrick O’Shea, Kieran O’Sullivan, and John Mark Foley adding to the tally to make the final score Laune Rangers 0-9, Kilgarvan 1-13.

Laune Rangers: 1 Vinnie Costello, 2 Daire Clifford, 3 Ger O’Sullivan, 4 Cormac Johnston, 5 Tadgh Curran, 6 Eoin O’Sullivan, 7 Seamus O’Sullivan, 8 Jack O’Connor (0-5), 9 James Flynn, 10 Colm O’Mahony, 11 Colin Dwyer, 12 Darren Riordan, 13 Gary Flynn, 14 Eamon Carey (0-4), 15 John Lodder.  Subs: Aidan Lynch, Aidan Cox, Pa Sheehan, David Costello.

Kilgarvan: 1 Flor O’Brien, 2 Derry O’Sullivan, 3 Patrick O’Sullivan, 4 David O’Connor, 5 John Mark Foley (0-1), 6 Jeremiah Kelliher, 8 Pa Cremin, 9 Connie Cremin (0-1), 10 Timmy Healy (0-1), 11 Kevin O’Connor, 12 Sean Godfrey, 13 Patrick O’Shea (0-8), 14 Donal O’Sullivan, 15 Conor Shorthall (0-2).  Subs: Florence O’Sullivan (1-0), Shane Randles, Martin Godfrey, Shane O’Sullivan.