County Senior Football Championship vs East Kerry - 13/7/14

posted 14 Jul 2014, 12:19 by Laune Rangers

Laune Rangers 3-13, East Kerry 2-15

In a sun soaked JP O’Sullivan Park in Killorglin, Laune Rangers hosted East Kerry in Round Three of the Garvey’s SuperValu County Senior Football Championship. East Kerry got off to much the brighter start when, after Mike O’Donoghue had notched the first point of the day from a free, Darragh Roche found the back of the net for a fine goal to give East Kerry a 4 point lead inside five minutes. Mike Frank Russell got Laune Rangers first score with a pointed free of his own, before Daniel Macbeth scored a wonder goal into the roof of the net to tie up the scores. Derry Ahern and Peter Crowley then exchanged points to leave scores level at the end of the first quarter at 1-2 apiece. East Kerry full forward DJ O’Connor pointed from an acute angle & Russell responded for Rangers before the home side found the net again - Shane McSweeney rocketing the ball into the top corner to give the home side the lead for the first time in the game in the 22nd minute. Mike O’Donoghue added another free for East Kerry but Laune Rangers closed out the half much stronger. Three points from centre forward McSweeney as well as points from minors Macbeth and David Costello had the hosts in a commanding lead at the break. The Half Time score; Laune Rangers 2-8, East Kerry 1-4.

East Kerry made a superb start to the second half and had their deficit cut to just a point after seven minutes. Two Mike O’Donoghue frees, a Jeff O’Donoghue point and a Derry Ahern goal set up by Mike O’Donoghue brought the visitors back into the game. Russell pointed from play for Rangers but another Mike O’Donoghue free and a Cian Horan point tied the game up with 9 minutes to play. Mike O’Donoghue pointed yet another free to cancel out yet another Shane McSweeney point from play & with 3 minutes to play, substitute Michael O’Shea gave East Kerry the lead for the first time since the 20th minute. However, Mike Frank Russell pointed a free in the 59th minute to tie the game up at the end of regulation. With Derry Ahern having seen a black card in the second half, Cian Horan received a straight red for a crunching challenge on Peter Crowley with seconds of normal time remaining. This didn’t affect East Kerry much however, as the referee blew the full time whistle with scores level and extra time beckoned with East Kerry able to return to their full compliment immediately on resumption of play. The score at the end of normal time was Laune Rangers 2-11, East Kerry 2-11.

Free Kick Specialists O’Donoghue and Russell added to their tallies early in the 1st period of extra time, Russell’s effort sandwiched between two O’Donoghue points. Shane McSweeney levelled the game up with a fisted effort following some good work from McSweeney and substitute John O’Shea. Peter Crowley was now playing in a midfield role and he broke upfield in the last minute of the first period and, with a stunning finish, scored Rangers’ third goal to give Rangers a three point lead with a 10 minutes remaining. Shane McSweeney, booked in normal time, received his second yellow card and was sent off for Laune Rangers, while both Daniel Macbeth and Peter Crowley received black cards. Mike O’Donoghue added another free – his 9th of the day – and Donal O’Sullivan pointed to leave the minimum between the sides but Laune Rangers hung on for a momentous win and move on to the Quarter Final. Final Score: Laune Rangers 3-13, East Kerry 2-15

Laune Rangers: Tony Lyons, Kieran Crowley, Johnny Carey (c), Keith Sheehan, Peter Crowley (1-1), John Sheehan, Chris Riordan, Padraig Murphy, Shane Daly, Daniel Macbeth (1-1), Shane McSweeney (1-5), John Tyther, David Costello (0-1), Colm O’Shea, Michael F Russell (0-5, 4f). Subs: John O’Shea for Costello, Shane O’Connor for C O’Shea, Mark Healy for Tyther, Tyther for Macbeth (bc), Aaron Gamble for P Crowley (bc).

East Kerry: Colin Myers (Fossa), Michael Finnegan (Spa), Jack Sherwood (Firies), Michael Murphy (Gneeveguilla), Timmy O’Leary (Gneeveguilla), Donal O’ Sullivan (Glenflesk) (0-1), Shane Lynch (Spa), Andrew Garnett (c)(Spa), Jimmy O’Leary (Listry), Jeff O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)(0-1), Mike O’Donoghue (Spa) (0-9f), Fintan Coffey (Fossa), Dara Roche (Glenflesk)(1-0), D J O’Connor (Gneeveguilla)(0-1), Derry Ahern(Listry)(1-1). Subs: Cian Horan (Glenflesk)(0-1) for Sherwood, Shane Cronin (Spa) for J O’Leary, Michael O’Shea (Glenflesk)(0-1) for Ahern, Kieran Murphy (Glenflesk) for Coffey, Colm O’Shea (Firies) for O’Connor, Anthony Wharton (Fossa) for M Murphy, Dan O’Donoghue (Spa) for T O’Leary.