2015 U21 County Championship:- Laune Rangers v John Mitchels. 24/6/15

posted 24 Jun 2015, 15:31 by Laune Rangers

Mitchels defeat Rangers in Under 21 Preliminary matchup

They move on to play West Kerry in Round 1

Laune Rangers 0-11, John Mitchels 1-13

Laune Rangers hosted John Mitchels in JP O’Sullivan Park, Killorglin in the Preliminary Round of the Acorn Life County Under 21 Championship.  Mitchels travelled with a near full strength team – with the exception of injured Jared O’Sullivan – while Rangers fielded a very young team as they were without a host of players through injury and holiday.

A tight first half left just a point between the sides at the break.  Three points each from Niall Sheehy  & Sean Moloney (2 frees each) were met with points from John O’Shea (3, 2 frees), Daniel Macbeth & John Tyther.  The third quarter was dominated by John Mitchels, as they took a commanding lead soon after the break.  Points from Gary Murphy, Cian O’Brien, James Duggan, Niall Sheehy (free), Sean Moloney were added to an Akeem Molloy goal put the visitors 1-11 to 0-5 ahead with 15 minutes to play.  Patrick Daly added a free for Rangers before the Killorglin side lost John Francis O’Grady to a black card.  Laune Rangers had some goal chances late on & added points from John O’Shea (free), Patrick Daly, Jamie Clifford, Gary Naughton & John Tyther.  However, points from Mitchels’ James Duggan & Jake Moran were enough to secure the win for the Tralee side.  The final score:- Laune Rangers 0-11, John Mitchels 1-13.

The age profile of both sides were a telling factor in this side as John Mitchels were able to field a team of players in the later stages of U21 football, while the average age of the 16 players that togged out for Laune Rangers was just over 18 years old.  The third quarter flurry by Mitchels proved enough to win the game, and they now move on to Round One of the Championship to face West Kerry.

Laune Rangers: Robert Lynch, Neil O’Shea, George Evans, Neil O’Brien, Gavin O’Shea (capt), John Tyther (0-2), Christian Fleming, Daniel Macbeth (0-1), John Francis O’Grady, Jamie Clifford (0-1), David Costello, Jack Smith, Patrick Daly (0-2, 1f), John O’Shea (0-4, 3f), Gary Naughton (0-1).  Sub: Pierce Tyther.

John Mitchels: Josh Reilly, Argjent Kastrati, Cian Sheridan, Keith Madden, Gary Murphy (0-1), Frank O’Donnell, Pat Kearney, Mike Wren, Jake Moran (0-1), Akeem Molloy (1-0), Niall Sheehy (0-4, 3f), Jonathan O’Halloran, Cian O’Brien (0-1), Sean Moloney (0-4, 2f), James Duggan (0-2).  Subs: Aaron O’Keeffe, Michael Walsh, Dylan O’Brien, Danny Houlihan.