2015 Mid Kerry Junior League Final:- Laune Rangers v Glenbeigh/Glencar. 14/7/15

posted 14 Jul 2015, 15:03 by Laune Rangers
Laune Rangers B: Mid Kerry Junior League Champions 2015

B team taste success in Cromane

Laune Rangers claim Mid Kerry Junior League Title with defeat of Glenbeigh/Glencar

Laune Rangers 0-12, Glenbeigh/Glencar 0-7

Cromane hosted the Final of the Mid Kerry Junior League on Tuesday evening, as table-toppers Laune Rangers came up against Glenbeigh/Glencar. Both sides were near to their full complement of eligible players, with the exception of Rangers’ regular midfielder Mark Healy who was unavailable on the evening.

Scores were at a premium in a tight opening quarter, as Rangers held a one point lead – Tommy Cahill with a brace for Glenbeigh while David Costello, Daniel Macbeth & Patrick Daly pointed for the Laune. Meanwhile an early goal chance by Glenbeigh/Glencar captain John Joe Quirke was saved by Jason Browne. The Killorglin men stretched the lead in the second quarter though, and went in at the break ahead by four points with players from both sides struggling for accuracy and kicking wides. Patrick Daly (free), Kieran Doona (2, 1 free) and Cormac Johnston pointed for Rangers – the latter’s score doing just enough to get over the head of Glenbeigh goalie Donal O’Neill from long distance. A well taken Kieran Doyle point for Glenbeigh/Glencar left the score at half time:- Laune Rangers 0-7, Glenbeigh/Glencar 0-3.

The second half began very much like the first, as a tight battle saw the scoreboard operator rarely troubled. Points from David Costello and Patrick Daly for Laune Rangers put six between the sides, before Caoilim Teahan got his side’s first score of the half in the 38th minute. More wides followed for both sides, before Patrick Daly pointed a free to put Rangers in the lead by 0-10 to 0-4 with 15 minutes to play. A Michael O’Sullivan (Laune Rangers) shot at goal glanced just outside the post before Glenbeigh raised their game for the final quarter, and a Tommy Cahill free was followed by a Caolim Teahan point to reduce the deficit to four points with 10 minutes remaining. A goal-mouth scramble in front of Ranger’s ‘keeper Jason Browne came close to producing a goal for Glenbeigh/Glencar but the backs cleared the danger. A Declan Cawley point was cancelled out by Caolim Teahan’s third point. However, a strong defensive effort by the Rangers allowed no more scores and – after missing a goal chance late on – Kieran Doona fisted the ball over the bar with the last play to make the final score:- Laune Rangers 0-12, Glenbeigh/Glencar 0-7.

A strong performance from Laune Rangers saw the spoils brought back to Killorglin, as many players excelled on the evening. Ronan Sayers was excellent at the back, while the marksmen Kieran Doona and youngster Patrick Daly kept the scoreboard ticking over throughout. Pa Sheehan’s leadership also drove on his side until his withdrawal through injury. Meanwhile Jack Brosnan, John Joe Quirke, & Kieran Doyle were strong for Glenbeigh/Glencar, but Caoilim Teahan was the chief concern for the Rangers defence when pushed further forward in the second half.

Laune Rangers captain Pa Sheehan accepted the League shield from Mid Kerry Board Chairman Mike Sayers, while Caolim Teahan received the official Man of the Match award.

Laune Rangers: Jason Browne, Tommy O’Callaghan, Cormac Johnston (0-1), Tadhg Curran, Ronan Sayers, George Evans, Gavin O’Shea, Daniel Macbeth (0-1), Michael O’Sullivan, Pa Sheehan (c), David Costello (0-2), Paul Browne, Kieran Doona (0-3, 1f), Declan Cawley (0-1), Patrick Daly (0-4, 2f). Subs used: Aidan Cox, Jamie Clifford, Colm O’Mahony.

Glenbeigh/Glencar: Donal O’Neill, Donal O’Loughlin, Micheal Walsh, Daniel Murphy, Shane Riordan, Sean Roche, Caolim Teahan (0-3), Tommy Cahill (0-3, 2f), Jack Brosnan, Podge Griffin, Kieran Doyle (0-1), Jack O’Shea, John Joe Quirke (c), James O’Sullivan, Daniel Griffin. Subs used: Jonathan Griffin, Daniel O’Connor.