2015 Mid Kerry Junior League:- Glenbeigh/Glencar v Laune Rangers. 21/6/15

posted 21 Jun 2015, 06:29 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 21 Jun 2015, 06:33 ]

Laune Rangers B get first win in Mid Kerry Junior League

They follow up draw in Milltown to go top of table.

Glenbeigh/Glencar B 0-12, Laune Rangers B 2-11

Laune Rangers travelled to Glenbeigh on Sunday for Round Two of the Mid Kerry Junior League. The visitors started strongly and by the time Glenbeigh/Glencar registered their first point through a 5th minute Tommy Cahill free, Laune Rangers had three points on the board – Ronan Sayers, Kieran Doona, and Patrick Daly putting Rangers in the lead. The full forward line of Daly, Doona and David Costello all pointed for the visitors to give Rangers a 0-6 to 0-1 lead after 15 minutes. Two points from Tommy Cahill (1 free, 1play) were sandwiched between Patrick Daly and Paul Browne points before the break to make the score at half time:- Glenbeigh/Glencar 0-3, Laune Rangers 0-8.

The third quarter was tightly contested, but Rangers managed to find the net twice in quick succession. The first goal was finished well to the bottom corner by David Costello following a well worked move, before Paul Browne rolled the ball to the net when a lack of concrentration caused a mix up between goalkeeper and defenders. This added to an earlier Patrick Daly pointed free & Pa Sheehan point, while Glenbeigh/Glencar had points registered through Jack Brosnan & John Joe Quirke to leave Laune Rangers leading by 2-10 to 0-5 with a quarter remaining. Glenbeigh/Glencar rallied for the final quarter though, and six Tommy Cahill points (4 frees) were added to by another for John Joe Quirke left just 4 points between the sides as time ran out. Kieran Doona kicked the final score from a free for Laune Rangers with the last kick of the game to make the score at Full Time:- Glenbeigh/Glencar 0-12, Laune Rangers 2-11.

Glenbeigh/Glencar: Donal O’Neill, Daniel Murphy, Micheal Walsh, Ger O’Sullivan, Shane Riordan, Jonathan Griffin, Caoilim Teahan, Tommy Cahill (0-9, 6f), Jack Brosnan (0-1), Tom Walsh, Podge Griffin, Kieran Cahillane, Daniel Griffin, James O’Sullivan, John Joe Quirke (0-2). Subs: Peter O’Sullivan, Gary Sheahan.

Laune Rangers: Robert Lynch, George Evans, Cormac Johnston, Aaron Gamble, Pa Sheehan (0-1), Michael O’Sullivan, Gavin O’Shea, Mark Healy, Daniel Macbeth, Ronan Sayers (0-1), Declan Cawley, Paul Browne (1-1), Patrick Daly (0-4, 3f), Kieran Doona (0-3, 2f), David Costello (1-1). Subs: Tommy O’Callaghan, Bob Foley, David Coffey, Colm O’Mahony, Ian Costello, Francis Russell.