2015 Junior Mid Kerry League: Laune Rangers v Beaufort. 30-6-15

posted 30 Jun 2015, 15:07 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 1 Jul 2015, 04:16 ]

Laune Rangers defeat Beaufort in final Mid Kerry Junior League game

Laune Rangers 2-13, Beaufort 0-15

Laune Rangers B team faced Beaufort on Tuesday evening in their last fixture in the Mid Kerry Junior League. Both sides had periods of dominance in the opening exchanges. Patrick Daly (free) and David Costello pointed early for the home side, while Mick O’Sullivan, Gary Coffey (2), Kevin O’Brien had Beaufort in the lead. However, a goal from the penalty spot by Patrick Daly put Rangers ahead by 1-2 to 0-4 with 15 minutes played, after David Costello had been fouled inside the square. Points were then traded between the sides as Kevin O’Brien (free) & Padraig O’Sullivan of Beaufort and Jamie Clifford & Gavin O’Shea of Rangers left the home side ahead by a point after 21 minutes. Beaufort finished the half stronger though, and points from Kevin O’Brien (2, 1free), Mike Fogarty & Mick O’Sullivan gave the visitors the lead at the break. The score at Half Time:- Laune Rangers 1-4, Beaufort 0-10.

Laune Rangers raised their game on the restart and had scores level after 3 minutes of play – Patrick Daly, Declan Cawley and Daniel Macbeth with the points for the home side. Cawley and Macbeth points gave Rangers a two point lead but this was eventually clawed back by Beaufort’s Aaron Foley and Kevin O’Brien (free) to tie the game up with 15 minutes to play: Laune Rangers 1-9, Beaufort 0-12. Laune Rangers substitute Colm O’Mahony gave his side the lead again before a second Laune Rangers goal put them 4 points in front – David Costello on the end of a great long pass from Daniel Macbeth to put the ball into the roof of the net. The lead increased to five points shortly after through another Colm O’Mahony point. Beaufort reacted well though, and Aaron Foley & Kevin O’Brien (2 frees) reduced their side’s deficit to two points. A well taken Pa Sheehan point from distance put a goal between the sides again though, and this quelled the flames of the Beaufort comeback as Declan Cawley kicked the insurance point to claim victory for Laune Rangers. Full Time score:- Laune Rangers 2-13, Beaufort 0-15.

Laune Rangers: Jason Browne, George Evans, Tadhg Curran, David Coffey, Pa Sheehan (0-1), Ronan Sayers, Gavin O’Shea (0-1), Daniel Macbeth (0-2), Mark Healy, David Costello (1-1), Declan Cawley (0-3), Paul Browne, Jamie Clifford (0-1), Kieran Doona, Patrick Daly (1-2, 1 pen, 1f). Subs used: Aidan Cox, Colm O’Mahony (0-2), Manus Gallagher.

Beaufort: Jason Foley, Patch Sullivan, Brendan Cronin, Jeremiah O’Sullivan, Gary Tangney, James O’Reilly, Tom O’Hagan, Conor Breen, Padraig O’Sullivan (0-1), Mike Fogarty (0-1), Gary Coffey (0-2), Padraig Hallissey, Aaron Foley (0-2), Kevin O’Brien (0-7, 5f), Mick O’Sullivan (0-2).