2015 County SFC Relegation Playoff:- Laune Rangers vs Kerins O'Rahillys 7/11/15

posted 8 Nov 2015, 09:40 by Laune Rangers

Laune Rangers 0-9, Kerins O’Rahillys 1-12

Laune Rangers future in the County Senior Football Championship remains insecure and indeed the odds have been further stacked against us following the six point loss to Kerins O’Rahillys in Castleisland on Saturday last.

Playing into a stiff breeze in the first half, Laune Rangers stayed within reach of their opponents through some good defending from the back six as a whole.  Jack Savage (3, 2 frees), Barry John Keane (2), Ross O’Callaghan and David O’Callaghan pointed for the Tralee side while points for Rangers by Mike Frank Russell (2, 1 free), Shane McSweeney and Ronan Sayers saw the sides go in at Half Time: -Kerins O’Rahillys 0-7, Laune Rangers 0-4.

Jack Savage pointed a free for Rahillys in the opening exchanges of the second half, but the next score was the decisive one.  In the 37th minute, a turnover while the ball was coming out of the Rangers defence allowed Kerins O’Rahillys a chance and Jack Savage got his fist to a Kieran O’Mahony pass to put his side 1-8 to 0-4 ahead.  Rangers fought back and in the next 20 minutes, outscored Rahillys by 0-5 to 0-1 to leave just a goal between the sides entering the closing stages – Rangers points coming from a Russell 45, Ronan Sayers and substitutes Chris Riordan and John O’Shea (2, 1 free).  Kerins O’Rahillys were able to close out the game though, and two pointed frees from Barry John Keane were followed up by a point from substitute Declan Quill to end with a six point victory.  Full Time Score: Kerins O’Rahillys 1-12, Laune Rangers 0-9.

Kerin’s O’Rahilly’s joins Rathmore, Kilcummin & Milltown/Castlemaine in Senior Championship safety.  Meanwhile, the 2016 County Championship will be without at least one of the County’s two most decorated clubs – Laune Rangers & Austin Stacks – as only one of Rangers, Stacks, St Michaels/Foilmore & Ardfert can remain Senior.  The draw for Round 2 will be made in Monday night’s meeting of the CCC.

Laune Rangers: Tony Lyons, Keith Sheehan, Micheal O’Sullivan, Johnny Carey, Kieran Crowley, Peter Crowley, Ronan Sayers (0-2), John Sheehan, Maurice Foley, Ryan Keane, Shane McSweeney (0-1), John Tyther, David Costello, Michael F Russell (0-3, 2f), Pa Joy.  Subs used: John O’Shea (0-2, 1f), Chris Riordan (0-1), Colm O’Shea.

Kerins O’Rahillys: Gary Kissane, Danny O’Sullivan, Shane Brosnan, David Murphy, Gavan Duffy, Ross O’Callaghan (0-1), Con Barrett, Kevin Walshe, Barry John Keane (0-4, 2f), David McLoughlin (0-1), Jack Savage (1-5, 4f), Tommy Walsh, John Ferguson.  Subs used: Giles O’Grady, Kieran O’Mahony, Declan Quill (0-1).