2015 County League Div II:- Gneeveguilla vs Laune Rangers. 28/6/15

posted 28 Jun 2015, 14:29 by Laune Rangers

above: Mike Frank Russell addresses this ball before scoring Laune Rangers first point in Sunday's defeat to Gneeveguilla.

Laune Rangers winning run ends in Gneeveguilla

Missed chances rued in one point loss

Gneeveguilla 0-10, Laune Rangers 1-6

It was a story of missed chances as Laune Rangers travelled to Gneeveguilla on Sunday in Round 7 of the County Senior Football League. A low scoring first half saw Laune Rangers held scoreless until the 25th minute. Mike Frank Russell pointed a free to get the visitors on the scoreboard, but not before Russell had missed an earlier penalty that would have given Rangers the lead as Gneeveguilla had scored two points early in the game through Cornelius Buckley and Donal Murphy. Daniel Macbeth saw a shot towards goal glance just over the crossbar to level scores before Buckley slotted his second point to put Gneeveguilla ahead again. A John O’Shea free levelled the score once more before O’Shea scored a superb goal – finishing to the top corner following a solo run from outside the 45. This gave Rangers the lead at the break, as the sides went in at half time with the score at:- Gneeveguilla 0-3, Laune Rangers 1-3.

Both sides had hit a number of wides in the first half and this continued after the break. Gneeveguilla reduced the deficit to the minimum with points from Fergus McAuliffe and Padraig O’Connor, but Pa Joy managed to fist the ball over the bar after a great run in along the goal line to leave the visitors in the lead with a quarter of the game remaining by 1-4 to 0-5. Daniel Macbeth scored his second point to put a goal between the sides in the 50th minute, but Gneeveguilla showed guile and fought back well, even after being reduced to 14 men when Michael Murphy was sent off for an intentional trip on Shane McSweeney. Padraig O’Connor and Donal Murphy points put the minimum between the sides before Russell put Rangers two ahead again, but Padraig Doyle (free) and full back DJ Murphy levelled the game up with minutes to play. A substantial penalty claim for Rangers was denied – the home side fouled Rangers out wide & the referee raised his arm to indicate the advantage being played, and Russell was hauled down inside the square during this advantage period. The free was awarded at the point of the initial free and to compound matters, the free was put wide. Numbers were evened out when Maurice Foley received a black card and after he had received an earlier yellow card, Rangers were unable to introduce a replacement. Gneeveguilla took the lead from a Padraig Doyle free in injury time, and while Rangers were on the attack & 30 yards from goal, the final whistle was blown to give Gneeveguilla the victory and all important league points. Full Time score:- Gneeveguilla 0-10, Laune Rangers 1-6.

Gneeveguilla: Patrick O’Riordan, Timmy O’Leary, DJ Murphy (0-1), John Sheehan, Philip Cremin, Michael Murphy, Padraig O’Connor (0-2), Fergus McAuliffe (0-1), Don Murphy, Donie O’Connor, Donal Murphy (0-2), Michael Murphy, Padraig Doyle (0-2f), Conor Herlihy, Cornelius Buckley (0-2). Subs: Tommy Murphy, Padraig O’Sullivan.

Laune Rangers: Tony Lyons, Kieran Crowley, Michael O’Sullivan, Johnny Carey, Chris Riordan, John Tyther, Ronan Sayers, Maurice Foley, Padraig Murphy, David Costello, John O’Shea (1-1), Daniel Macbeth (0-2), Pa Joy (0-1), Shane McSweeney, Michael F Russell (0-2f). Sub: Colm O’Shea.