Senior‎ > ‎2020‎ > ‎2020 Senior Match Reports‎ > ‎

County Intermediate Championship Quarter Final:- Laune Rangers vs Spa Killarney. 03/10/2020

posted 5 Oct 2020, 07:17 by Laune Rangers
Dáire Cleary taps the ball home to give Rangers late hope. Still captured from live stream (c) Kerry GAA &

Laune Rangers 1-8, Spa Killarney 1-10

Laune Rangers bowed out of the County Intermediate Championship at the Quarter Final stage as wasted chances ultimately proved costly against competition favourites Spa in Austin Stack Park on Saturday evening – James Devane proving the hero for the Killarney men at the end with his third point-black save at the final kick of the game.

Laune Rangers handed a full Championship debut to Stephen Sealy, who was one of nine U21s in the Killorglin starting team – 8 U20s plus team captain Fiachra Clifford.  Conor Murphy & Seán Arthurs also lined out in the full back line for their first starts of the year.  Spa were without talisman Liam Kearney but fielded an otherwise strong side.

Laune Rangers kicked the game’s first point through John Tyther, before Dara Moynihan scored what was ultimately a crucial goal in the 4th minute – the County star capitalizing on a turnover 50 metres from goal before driving through the defence and slotting the ball under Jason Browne and a couple of defenders. John Tyther scored a second point from a similar position to his first before Spa took control – Shane Cronin, Niall O’Mahoney (2) & Mike Foley scoring to put the Killarney side leading by 1-4 to 0-2 at the first half water break.

Mike Foley pointed a free before Fiachra Clifford slotted a free of his own, while David Spillane added another point for Spa at the other end. Rangers missed a host of chances in the second quarter, kicking five wides and dropping a further two into James Devane’s hands, but they were presented with a chance to get back in the game late in the half, as Eoin Clifford put a great pass into Gearóid Hassett who was left one-on-one with Devane. However, the Spa ‘keeper made a great save to deny Hassett, although Fiachra Clifford kicked a late point to leave 5 points between the teams at the break. Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-4, Spa Killarney 1-6.

A Dara Moynihan point was book-ended by two John Tyther frees in the early minutes of the second half, while Niall McCarthy and Evan Cronin added points to a much more clinical Spa’s tally to leave them leading 1-9 to 0-6 at the second half water break.

John Tyther (free) and Gearóid Hassett reduced the deficit to four points for Rangers, before Mike O’Donoghue pointed for Spa to ensure Laune Rangers would need two goals in injury time. A great move by Rangers put Peter Crowley through on goal, but James Devane pulled off a great save to force the ball out for a 45’. The resulting dead ball kick led to chaos in the square, and Dáire Cleary was on hand to tap the loose ball to the net from close range to put the game in the balance. Laune Rangers were all out on the attack, and were presented with one final chance in injury time with a great move up the right flank, but Roan Moriarty’s shot was stopped yet again by James Devane – a shot that turned out to be the final kick of the game. Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 1-8, Spa Killarney 1-10.

It was a game that Rangers almost 'stole' at the death, although they had more than their fair share of possession and more scoring chances during the 60 minutes.  Best for Rangers were the two afore mentioned men in the full back line - Conor Murphy & Seán Arthurs who showed no signs of rustiness - Murphy in particular having been out of action since October 2019.

Laune Rangers:- Jason Browne, Seán Arthurs, Conor Murphy, Kieran Crowley, Eoin Clifford, David Mangan, Peter Crowley, Stephen Sealy, Jack O’Connor, Mark O’Connor, Fiachra Clifford (0-2, 1f), Shane McSweeney, Dáire Cleary (1-0), John Tyther (0-5, 3f), Gearóid Hassett. Subs used: David Costelloe for McSweeney, Patrick Carey for Sealy, Roan Moriarty for M O’Connor, Shane Daly for J O’Connor, Seán Cleary for E Clifford.

Spa Killarney:- James Devane, Eoin Fitzgerald, Brian Lynch, Shane Lynch, Shane Cronin (0-1), Dan O’Donoghue, Gary Vaughan, Ciarán Spillane, Mike O’Donoghue (0-1), Niall O’Mahoney (0-2), Dara Moynihan (1-1), Niall McCarthy (0-1), Michael Foley (0-2, 1f), Evan Cronin (capt, 0-1), David Spillane (0-1). Subs used: Michael McCarthy for N McCarthy, Cormac Cronin for O’Mahoney.