Senior‎ > ‎2019‎ > ‎2019 Senior Match Reports‎ > ‎

Mid Kerry Senior League Round 2:- Milltown/Castlemaine vs Laune Rangers. 10/02/2019

posted 16 Feb 2019, 15:20 by Laune Rangers

Milltown Castlemaine 2-13, Laune Rangers 1-6

Laune Rangers fell to another defeat in the second game of the 2019 season on Sunday afternoon away at Milltown/Castlemaine. The home side fielded a strong team against a somewhat experimental Rangers side.

There was little between the sides in the early minutes, as early points for the hosts by Jerry Hayes and Jamie O’Shea (2, 1 free) were answered by points from Shane McSweeney and Colm O’Shea (free) – McSweeney returning to the Laune Rangers fold following a County Championship winning year in Cavan with Castlerahan. Milltown/Castlemaine then took control of the game, adding points from Jerome Flynn, Gavin Horan & Jamie O’Shea before Horan finished a great run with an excellent goal. With 17 minutes played, Milltown Castlemaine led by 1-6 to 0-2.

The home team added another point through Jerome Flynn in the second quarter, but Laune Rangers got back into the game with a goal of their own – Jack O’Connor’s effort at a point coming back off the post with Colm O’Shea alert enough to react and palm it to the net. Daragh O’Connor added a point for Rangers to leave four between the sides at the break. Half Time:- Milltown/Castlemaine 1-7, Laune Rangers 1-3.

Colm O’Shea halved the deficit with two frees in the opening minutes of the half, but Milltown responded with points from Donal Dennehy, Pa Wrenn and Jerry Hayes to lead by 1-10 to 1-5 with a quarter to play.

Shane McSweeney added another point for Rangers, but Milltown/Castlemaine capitalized on a few defensive mishaps, adding a second goal through young wing back David Leane who tapped in a spilled ball while Jerome Flynn pointed three more times (2 frees) to add gloss to the scoreline. Full Time Score:- Milltown/Castlemaine 2-13, Laune Rangers 1-6

Milltown/Castlemaine:- Cormac Leane, Ciarán O’Connor, Tadgh McCarthy, Stephen Roche, David Leane (1-0), Pa Wrenn (0-1), Kieran O’Carroll, David Roche, Donal Dennehy (0-1), Craig Counihan, Gavin Horan (1-1), Killian Kerins, Jerome Flynn (0-5, 4f), Jeremiah Hayes (0-2), Jamie O’Shea (0-3, 1f). Subs: Paul Carroll, Dylan O’Neill, Nigel Wrenn, Liam Burke, John Dennehy, Shane Moriarty.

Laune Rangers:- Vincent Costello, Pierce Tyther, Conor Murphy, Neil O’Brien, John Tyther (capt), Cormac Johnston, Pa Carey, Shane McSweeney (0-2), Jack O’Connor, Daniel Whittleton, Daragh O’Connor (0-1), Darragh O’Sullivan, Colm O’Shea (1-3, 3f), Morgan O’Sullivan, David Costelloe. Subs:- Mark O’Connor for M O’Sullivan, Aidan Cox for O’Brien, Mike F Russell for Whittleton, Jonathan Carey for P Tyther, Eamonn Carey for C O’Shea, James Lynch for D O’Connor.