Senior‎ > ‎2019‎ > ‎2019 Senior Match Reports‎ > ‎

Mid Kerry Senior Championship Final:- Laune Rangers vs Milltown/Castlemaine. 02/12/2019

posted 2 Dec 2019, 06:07 by Laune Rangers
The Laune Rangers squad for Sunday's Mid Kerry Final:- Back Row (L to R):- Eric Dunlea, Shane Daly, Morgan O'Sullivan, David Mangan, Jack O'Connor, Colm O'Mahony, Michael O'Sullivan, Adrian Murphy, Darragh O'Sullivan, Pierce Tyther, Colm O'Shea, Daragh O'Connor, Eamonn Carey, Oisín Daly, Jonathan Carey. Back Row (L to R):- Dáire Cleary, James Hurley, Seán Arthurs, Kieran Doona, Mark O'Connor, Shane McSweeney, Roan Moriarty, John Tyther (capt), Cormac Johnston, David Costelloe, Shane Doona, Patrick Carey, Cian O'Shea, Fiachra Clifford, Jason Browne.

Laune Rangers 0-16, Milltown/Castlemaine 2-11

Milltown/Castlemaine were crowned Mid Kerry Senior Champions on Sunday afternoon with defeat of Laune Rangers by the narrowest of margins.

An early Fiachra Clifford pointed free opened the scoring but Milltown were level soon after when Cathal Moriarty tapped over. Rangers scored points through Fiachra Clifford (2, 1f) and Pa Carey – the latter a shot that flashed over the bar when on another day could have snuck under it. Jonathan O’Sullivan pointed one back before Milltown/Castlemaine took the lead – Cathal Moriarty netting from the penalty spot after being fouled in the square by Shane McSweeney. With fifteen minutes played, Milltown/Castlemaine lead by 1-2 to 0-4.

Milltown had the upper hand for the middle part of the first half and , while Donal Dennehy and Jonathan O’Sullivan points were cancelled out by John Tyther and Shane Doona respectively, Milltown/Castlemaine scored their second goal when Cathal Moriarty hit an excellent finish to the top corner. This goal put Milltown four ahead but Rangers finished the half strongly. Points by Fiachra Clifford (2, 1f), Darragh O’Sullivan, Kieran Doona & Jason Browne (free) were met by points at the other end by Dylan O’Neill and Jonathan O’Sullivan to see Milltown go into the break in the lead by the minimum. Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-11, Milltown/Castlemaine 2-6.

Two more Fiachra Clifford points (1 free) put Rangers into the lead in the early stages of the second half but points from Jonathan O’Sullivan, Cathal Moriarty & Kieran O’Carroll left Milltown ahead by two with a quarter to play – Laune Rangers 0-13, Milltown/Castlemaine 2-9.

The game’s key moment came in the 46th minute when Shane McSweeney received his marching orders for a second yellow card when he was deemed to have fouled David Roche in a collision just after the referee’s whistle was blown. Cathal Moriarty pointed twice (1 free) to extend his side’s lead to four. The 14 youngsters of Laune Rangers kept trying and pointed through Fiachra Clifford (free) as well as Carey brothers Pa & Johnny to reduce the gap to one, and two late attempts to level the game came up short. The final whistle was blown to give Milltown/Castlemaine the win. Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-16, Milltown/Castlemaine 2-11.

Even though Laune Rangers contested the 2018 decider, five of Sunday’s starting team were lining out in the Senior Final for the first time, with eight players aged 20 or younger.

The defeat marks the end of the season for the Seniors, with Intermediate status secured and County League promotion gained in 2019. The Club wish to thank all of our players for their efforts in the season, as well as our management of Tim Fleming, Mark O’Connor, Eoin Corkery & Pa Sheehan.

Laune Rangers:- Jason Browne (0-1f), David Costelloe, Seán Arthurs, David Mangan, Cormac Johnston, Shane McSweeney, Patrick Carey (0-2), Jack O’Connor, John Tyther (capt, 0-1), Mark O’Connor, Kieran Doona (0-1), Darragh O’Sullivan (0-1), Fiachra Clifford (0-8, 5f), Roan Moriarty, Shane Doona (0-1). Subs: Dáire Cleary, Daragh O’Connor, Jonathan Carey, Colm O’Mahony.

Milltown/Castlemaine:- Cormac Leane, Ciarán O’Connor, Tadhg McCarthy, Stephen Roche, Jeremiah Hayes, Pa Wrenn (0-1), Kieran O’Carroll (0-1), David Roche, Donal Dennehy (j capt, 0-1), Craig Counihan, Jonathan O’Sullivan (0-3), Killian Kerins, Cathal Moriarty (2-4, 1pen 1f), Jerome Flynn, Dylan O’Neill (0-1). Subs: Gavin McKenna, Gavin Horan (j capt).