Senior‎ > ‎2019‎ > ‎2019 Senior Match Reports‎ > ‎

County Senior Football League Division Four Round 3:- St Michaels/Foilmore vs Laune Rangers. 11/05/2019

posted 11 May 2019, 14:22 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 11 May 2019, 14:25 ]
Jason Browne strikes from the 45m line for his second score of the game.

St Michaels/Foilmore 0-9, Laune Rangers 3-11

The County Senior Football League resumed on Saturday evening, and Laune Rangers continued their fine start to the competition with an away win against St Michaels/Foilmore. Laune Rangers started the game with seven Under 21s in their starting team, including 2018 Tom Markham winner David Mangan who made his first Senior start for the club. Rangers had to make do without Kerry U20 Fiachra Clifford, but were heartened to have Peter Crowley supporting the team on the sideline following his recent cruciate ligament injury.

Playing in glorious sunshine in Foilmore GAA grounds, Rangers got off to a great start with Dáire Cleary pointing twice in the first five minutes. Jason Browne came upfield to slot a long range free to extend the lead. Matthew O’Sullivan pointed a free to get the home side off the mark, but it was soon nullified by a pointed free by Dáire Cleary. With fifteen minutes played, Laune Rangers led by 0-4 to 0-1.

James Moran pointed for the home side before Rangers goalkeeper Jason Browne kicked his second dead ball over the bar – this time from the 45 metre line. Rangers then took a commanding lead when – after John Tyther did well to offload the ball in contact – Patrick Daly struck his soccer-style shot into the top corner for a fantastic goal.

St Michaels/Foilmore rallied well though, and scored four unanswered points through Matthew O’Sullivan (2), Mark McCarthy and Brian Smith – McCarthy’s point coming from a dropping ball into the square and the Rangers defenders would have been relieved to see the punched shot go over the bar. Dáire Cleary added another point for the visitors to leave a goal between the sides at the break. Half Time Score:- St Michaels/Foilmore 0-6, Laune Rangers 1-6.

Dáire Cleary continued fine form in front of the posts by adding the first point of the second half, but Andy O’Connell cancelled it out with a point for the hosts. In a low scoring third quarter, Rangers made substitutions, including Roan Moriarty who came on for his Senior debut, & Shane Doona who joined his Minor teammates Moriarty and Mangan on the field. Shane Doona and Patrick Daly pointed for the visitors while Matthew O’Sullivan scored a brace to leave Rangers leading by 1-9 to 0-9 with fifteen minutes to play.

Laune Rangers dominated the final quarter, holding the home side scoreless to win comfortably in the end. Patrick Carey pointed before Rangers scored their second goal with Patrick Daly netting again. Dáire Cleary scored another point before scoring Rangers third goal. Rangers may have scored a fourth goal before the end, but Pa Carey’s shot was saved excellently by goalkeeper Ciarán O’Shea. Full Time Score:- St Michaels/Foilmore 0-9, Laune Rangers 3-11.

The introduction of Moriarty and Doona midway through the second half made a big impact for Rangers. Mikey O’Sullivan started his first game for a while, and showed no cobwebs in a sold performance, while Jack O’Connor & Shane McSweeney were industrious around the middle of the field. Dáire Cleary was the stand out player on the day though, finishing with a tally of 1-6 to his name – 1-5 coming from play.

St Michaels/Foilmore:- Ciarán O’Shea, Emmet Curran, Cian Goggin, Seán Scanlon, Ciarán Clifford, Chris O’Sullivan, Alan Smith, Padraig King (0-2), Ronan Clifford, James Moran (0-1), Matthew O’Sullivan (0-3, 1f), Andy O’Connell (0-1), Pierce McGill, Mark McCarthy (0-1), Brian Smith (0-1). Subs: Stephen Cronin, Alan Goggin, Seán Garvey.

Laune Rangers:- Jason Browne (0-2f), David Mangan, Conor Murphy, Cormac Johnston, Mikey O’Sullivan, Jonathan Carey, Patrick Carey (0-1), Jack O’Connor, Shane Daly, Dáire Cleary (1-6, 1f), Patrick Daly (2-1), John Tyther (capt), Mark O’Connor, Shane McSweeney, Daragh O’Connor. Subs: Roan Moriarty for M O’Connor, Shane Doona (0-1) for D O’Connor, Darragh O’Sullivan for Shane McSweeney, Pierce Tyther for O’Sullivan, Liam Quirke for P Daly, Morgan O’Sullivan for S Daly.