Senior‎ > ‎2018‎ > ‎2018 Senior Match Reports‎ > ‎

Mid Kerry Senior Championship Semi Final:- Laune Rangers vs Beaufort. 07/10/2018

posted 7 Oct 2018, 13:05 by Laune Rangers
The Laune Rangers Team in a post-match huddle

Laune Rangers 0-11, Beaufort 0-8

For the first time in five years, Laune Rangers will contest the Mid Kerry Senior Championship Final, following victory over Beaufort in a thrilling Semi Final in JP O’Sullivan Park on Sunday afternoon.

Laune Rangers were playing with the aid of a stiff breeze in the first half & were first to get on the scoreboard as Fiachra Clifford pointed two frees to give Rangers the lead with 8 minutes played. However, Beaufort were soon level as Mike Breen and Jeremiah O’Sullivan both scored well taken points to see the scores tied at 0-2 a piece with a quarter played. As the scoreboard suggested, the defences were on top at both ends of the field during that opening period, with the experience of Johnny Carey & Peter Crowley a great influence on the young defenders around them.

Rangers were impressive in the second quarter and kept Beaufort scoreless at one end, with Conor Murphy & Seán Arthurs putting in some excellent blocks, while Patrick Carey got upfield to score an excellent point & Fiachra Clifford added another free to capitalize on the trouble being caused by Dáire Cleary and David Costelloe in the inside forward line. Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-4, Beaufort 0-2.

Beaufort were level within four minutes of the restart, as Ciarán Kennedy and Fergal Hallissey (free) pointed for the visitors. Mike Breen pointed his second score of the game to cancel out a Fiachra Clifford free, before Ciarán Kennedy pointed to give Beaufort their first and only lead of the game. That lead lasted for just a minute as Colm O’Shea pointed a free, with Cleary & Costelloe continuing to cause havoc near goal. Another Fiachra Clifford free was added to give Rangers the lead by 0-7 to 0-6 with 15 minutes to play.

Patrick Carey doubled Rangers’ lead as his shot blazed over the crossbar for a point & Kieran Doona slotted a free to put the hosts three ahead with 8 minutes to play. Fiachra Clifford pointed his 6th free of the day to cancel out an excellent Liam Carey point from distance, before David Costelloe scored the best point of the game against the breeze from the right flank to put Rangers ahead by four in the 60th minute. Fergal Hallissey pointed a free to give Beaufort a chance in injury time but after a couple of late scares in front of Jason Browne’s net, Peter Crowley turned over possession and was fouled coming out of defence. The final whistle was blown to give Laune Rangers an impressive win. Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-11, Beaufort 0-8.

Laune Rangers won most of the individual battles on the day. Johnny Carey & Peter Crowley led the charge from the back, while Fiachra Clifford & Kieran Doona shared playmaking duties and covered a lot of grass between them. However, the stand out performance was shared between the two young defenders in the team for Rangers – Conor Murphy & Seán Arthurs. They settled into the white heat of Mid Kerry Championship battle with ease and were outstanding both on and off the ball.

Laune Rangers progress to the Mid Kerry Senior Championship Final where they will play the winners of next week’s Glenbeigh/Glencar vs Milltown/Castlemaine game. Details for the Final have not been finalised.

Laune Rangers:- Jason Browne, Seán Arthurs, Jonathan Carey (capt), Cormac Johnston, Michael O’Sullivan, Peter Crowley, Patrick Carey (0-2), Jack O’Connor, John Tyther, Fiachra Clifford (0-6f), Kieran Doona (0-1f), Conor Murphy, Dáire Cleary, Colm O’Shea (0-1f), David Costelloe (0-1). Sub used: Daragh O’Connor for O’Shea.

Beaufort:- Michael Moriarty, Michael J O’Connor, Gerard Hartnett, Seán Kelliher, Jeremiah O’Sullivan (0-1), Jonathan Kissane, Mike Breen (0-2), Ronan Murphy, Nathan Breen (capt), Fergal Hallissey (0-2f), Liam Carey (0-1), Padraig Doona, Niall O’Connor, Ciarán Kennedy (0-2), Ronan Ferris. Subs used: Ian McGillicuddy for N O’Connor, Padraig O’Sullivan for Ferris, Danny Healy for McGillicuddy, Darragh Coffey for P O’Sullivan.