Senior‎ > ‎2018‎ > ‎2018 Senior Match Reports‎ > ‎

Mid Kerry Senior Championship Round 1:- Keel vs Laune Rangers. 30/09/2018

posted 30 Sept 2018, 10:52 by Laune Rangers
Laune Rangers Squad.
Back (left to right): David Costelloe, Shane Daly, Morgan O'Sullivan, Jason Browne, Peter Crowley, Michael O'Sullivan, Jonathan Carey (capt), Adrian Murphy, Cormac Johnston, Kieran Doona, Chris Riordan, Conor Murphy, Colm O'Shea, Eamonn Carey.
Front (left to right): Padraig Murphy, Cian O'Shea, John Tyther, Colm O'Mahony, Daragh O'Connor, Patrick Carey, Dáire Cleary, Patrick Daly, James Lynch, Darren O'Riordan, Gavin O'Shea, Fiachra Clifford, Pierce Tyther, Darragh O'Shea, Seán Arthurs.

Keel 3-6, Laune Rangers 2-17

Laune Rangers have progressed to the Mid Kerry Senior Championship Semi Final following the defeat of Keel on Sunday afternoon in Keel.

Laune Rangers had much the better of possession in the first quarter, but it was the home side that led after 15 minutes. Fiachra Clifford pointed a free for the game’s first score but Keel hit the net in the second minute for a goal through Colm O’Neill. Colm O’Shea (free) & Dáire Cleary pointed to level matters before Gary Sayers put Keel ahead with a super point from a sideline kick. Kieran Doona equalized for Rangers before Sayers scored Keel’s second goal to put them ahead by two.

Laune Rangers began to settle into the game though. Colm O’Shea (free) and Peter Crowley pointed to bring Rangers level again before Martin Burke put Keel ahead again with a well taken point. Laune Rangers scored the final three points of the half as Fiachra Clifford (2, 1 free) and Colm O’Shea (free) gave Rangers a two point lead at the break. Keel were reduced to 14 men late in the first half as Shane Prendiville was dismissed. Half Time Score:- Keel 2-2, Laune Rangers 0-10.

Laune Rangers got off to the perfect start to the second half, as Dáire Cleary ended an excellent solo run with a great finish to score his side’s first goal. Rangers added points through skipper Johnny Carey and Cleary but on each occasion, Keel’s Martin Burke was able to reply with a point at the other end. Rangers’ second goal came in the 44th minute as David Costelloe won the ball on the right flank and headed towards goal before passing across the square to the onrushing Kieran Doona who tapped it home. With 15 minutes to play, Laune Rangers led by 2-12 to 2-4 although the personnel advantage was wiped out in the third quarter as Shane Daly was given his marching orders.

Carey brothers Johnny & Patrick as well as Colm O’Shea (free) all added points to put Rangers 11 points ahead. However, Keel kept trying and, after Aaron Murphy had pointed a free for the hosts, they were awarded a penalty and a chance for a third goal. Jason Browne got a hand to Colm O’Neill’s spot kick, but the forward had enough power on it to see the ball roll to the net for his second goal of the day. Another Aaron Murphy free reduced the deficit to six, but Rangers scored the final two points of the game through Kieran Doona and substitute Daragh O’Connor. Full Time Score:- Keel 3-6, Laune Rangers 2-17.

John Tyther put in a big effort in the middle of the field, while Dáire Cleary & David Costelloe were lively & caused difficulty for the Keel defence throughout. Laune Rangers Captain Johnny Carey put in an excellent performance from half back and was the stand out player on the day.

Keel:- Cillian Sayers, Garrett Prendiville, James Foley, Shane Prendiville, Sean Cremins, Donal O’Neill (capt), Luke Flynn, Thomas Ladden, Martin Burke (0-3), David McAssey, Aaron Murphy (0-2f), Daniel Ashe, Colm O’Neill (2-0, 1 pen), Gary Sayers (1-1f, Tommy Buckley. Subs: Terry O’Sullivan, Cian Flynn, John A Cahillane, Dylan Prendergast.

Laune Rangers:- Jason Browne, Pierce Tyther, Michael O’Sullivan, Cormac Johnston, Jonathan Carey (capt, 0-3), Peter Crowley (0-1), Patrick Carey (0-1), Shane Daly, John Tyther, Fiachra Clifford (0-3, 2f), Kieran Doona (1-2, 1f), Patrick Daly, Dáire Cleary (1-2), Colm O’Shea (0-4f), David Costelloe. Subs: Seán Arthurs, Cian O’Shea, Padraig Murphy, Daragh O’Connor (0-1), Colm O’Mahony, Morgan O’Sullivan.