Senior‎ > ‎2018‎ > ‎2018 Senior Match Reports‎ > ‎

County Senior Football League Division Three Round 7:- Laune Rangers vs Brosna. 17/6/18

posted 17 Jun 2018, 08:27 by Laune Rangers

Laune Rangers 0-11, Brosna 2-16

Brosna visited Laune Rangers on Sunday afternoon and the result of this County League Divison Three tie was known at an early stage. Of course, the sides had already met this season with the North Kerry side winning the Championship relegation playoff semi final seven weeks ago, and they had 12 of the same starting team available to them on Sunday, while Rangers had just 6 of the side that faced Brosna in that Championship game.

Brosna led by 1-4 to 0-1 after 15 minutes as Don McAuliffe, Tom McGoldrick (2 frees) & Patrick Moriarty points as well as a Mike Finnegan goal gave the visitors a commanding lead with Eamonn Carey providing the sole reply for Rangers.

Brosna continued to press home their advantage in the second quarter. Two Colm O’Shea points for Rangers (1 free) were met by Don McAuliffe & Eamon Kiely & Tom McGoldrick points for Brosna before the visitors scored their second goal of the game – Adam Barry rattling the top corner of the net from 20 yards with a fantastic finish. Mike Finnegan, Kieran O’Donnell & Tom McGoldrick (45’) increased the lead further as Gavin O’Shea scored the final point of the half for Rangers. Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-4, Brosna 2-10.

Brosna kept up their intensity at the beginning of the second half as Mike Finnegan (3), Tom McGoldrick & Kieran Horan all pointed as Colm O’Shea added a point to the home side’s tally to leave Brosna leading by 2-15 to 0-5 with 15 minutes to play.

Laune Rangers kept their heads up on continued to battle until the final whistle. Kieran Doona (2), James Lynch & Colm O’Shea (2 frees) pointed to double the side’s tally on the scoreboard. Eamon Kiely added a point for Brosna before Pierce Tyther got upfield to score the final point of the game. Final Score:- Laune Rangers 0-11, Brosna 2-16.

Laune Rangers:- Jason Browne, Darragh O’Shea, Jonathan Carey, Pierce Tyther (0-1), Ronan Sayers, Chris Riordan (capt), Michael O’Sullivan, Jack O’Connor, Shane Daly, Eamonn Carey (0-1), Kieran Doona (0-2), Dáire Cleary, Cian O’Shea, Gavin O’Shea (0-1), Colm O’Shea (0-5, 4f). Subs: Colm O’Mahony, Patrick Daly, James Lynch (0-1), John O’Shea. Brosna:- Steve McAuliffe, Gerard Nash, Shane Fitzmaurice, Maurice O’Keeffe, Daniel Fitzgerald, Eamon Kiely (0-2), Peter Curtin, Timmy Finnegan, Shane Curtin, Adam Barry (capt) (1-0), Mike Finnegan (1-4), Kieran O’Donnell (0-1), Patrick Moriarty (0-1), Don McAuliffe (0-2), Tom McGoldrick (0-5, 3f). Subs: Cillian Keane, Kieran Horan (0-1), Denis McAuliffe.