Senior‎ > ‎2018‎ > ‎2018 Senior Match Reports‎ > ‎

County Intermediate Championship Group 3 Round 1:- Laune Rangers vs Waterville. 31/03/2018

posted 31 Mar 2018, 14:23 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 1 Apr 2018, 14:59 ]
Laune Rangers Team:- Back Row (l to r): John O'Shea, Jason Browne, Shane Daly, Peter Crowley, John Tyther, Jack O'Connor, Jonathan Carey, Colm O'Shea, Eamonn Carey, Cian O'Shea, Padraig Ahern, Michael O'Sullivan, James Lynch, Darragh O'Sullivan, Morgan O'Sullivan, Colm O'Mahony. Front Row (l to r): Fiachra Clifford, Gavin O'Shea, Dáire Cleary, Daragh O'Connor, Shane Mangan, Ronan Sayers, Cathal Doyle, Neil O'Brien, Cormac Johnston, Darragh O'Shea, Kevin O'Sullivan, David Costelloe, Pierce Tyther, Patrick Carey.  (Padraig Murphy missing from photo)

Waterville take the win in Championship

Laune Rangers 0-8, Waterville 0-13

Con Keating Park in Caherciveen was the venue of the Intermediate Championship Round 1 tie between Laune Rangers & Waterville on Saturday evening. Laune Rangers had Peter Crowley back to the team for the first time this season, but had to make do without Kieran Crowley & David Costelloe through injury, while John Tyther was deemed unfit to start also. This saw a host of players make their Championship debut for Rangers as Jason Browne, Cathal Doyle, Daragh O’Connor, Dáire Cleary & Shane Mangan all experienced Club Championship football for the first time in a starting team with an average age of 23.

While the game was played in glorious sunshine, underfoot conditions were far from ideal and made it difficult for both teams to put fluid play together. Rangers took the lead inside of 15 seconds as Dáire Cleary – making his first Senior start – collected the ball from Shane Daly off the throw in and slotted an excellent point. Waterville’s first chance came after 3 minutes but Barry O’Dwyer’s shot at goal was saved excellently by Jason Browne. The sides went point-for-point for most of the first half, with Eoin O’Sullivan and Colm O’Shea trading frees before Shane Daly & Paddy Curran exchanged long range points from play to see Rangers lead by 0-3 to 0-2 with 15 minutes played.

Eoin O’Sullivan tied up the scores with another free for Waterville, but points from Shane Mangan and Dáire Cleary put Rangers ahead by two – Mangan’s shot at goal taking paint off the crossbar as it flashed over, before Cleary slotted a point from a near impossible angle. However, Waterville finished the half strongly and scored points through Jamie O’Sullivan (2) and Cillian Clifford to take the lead by the minimum at the break. Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-5, Waterville 0-6.

Laune Rangers were level 4 minutes after the restart as Colm O’Shea pointed a free, while Barry O’Dwyer & Fiachra Clifford (free) points were the only scores in the remainder of the third quarter as the sides were level at 0-7 a piece with 15 minutes to play.

Waterville were much stronger than Rangers in the final quarter, as the experience of playing together as a group began to shine through. They scored four unanswered points through Jamie O’Sullivan, Barry O’Dwyer (free), Paddy Curran and substitute Keith Moran. Fiachra Clifford reduced the gap to three with a pointed free but Barry O’Dwyer kicked the insurance point with Cillian Clifford adding a point with the last kick of the game to give Waterville the win. Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-8, Waterville 0-13.

Best for Waterville were forwards Jamie O’Sullivan and Barry O’Dwyer, while Cormac O’Sullivan made full use of his 6’5” frame with an imposing display at midfield.

For Rangers, Dáire Cleary stepped up to Senior football with ease and played well with limited possession. Carey brothers Johnny and Patrick held the middle of the defence firm with Johnny in particular providing much needed experience at the back.

Laune Rangers face Desmonds in Castleisland on Sunday next, April 8th at 2:30pm in Round 2 of the Group stage of the Championship.

Laune Rangers:- Jason Browne, Cormac Johnston, Jonathan Carey (capt), Neil O’Brien, Cathal Doyle, Patrick Carey, Ronan Sayers, Shane Daly (0-1), Peter Crowley, Daragh O’Connor, Fiachra Clifford (0-2f), Jack O’Connor, Dáire Cleary (0-2), Shane Mangan (0-1), Colm O’Shea (0-2f). Subs used:- John Tyther for J O’Connor, Padraig Murphy for D O’Connor, Cian O’Shea for Colm O’Shea. Patrick O’Dwyer, Cillian Cronin, Micheal Cronin, Michael O’Shea, Fionán Cilfford, Adam O’Dwyer, Cillian Clifford (0-2), Cormac O’Sullivan, Oran Clifford, Fergal Cronin, Jamie O’Sullivan (0-3), Eoin O’Sullivan (0-2f), Barry O’Dwyer (0-3, 2f), Sean C O’Sullivan, Patrick Curran (0-2). Subs: Michael Curran, Keith Moran (0-1).