Senior‎ > ‎2017‎ > ‎2017 Senior Match Reports‎ > ‎

Mid Kerry Senior League Final:- Laune Rangers vs Milltown/Castlemaine. 8/7/17

posted 9 Jul 2017, 10:20 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 10 Jul 2017, 06:04 ]
Laune Rangers Squad:- Back Row: Francis Russell, Colin O'Dwyer, Padraig Murphy, Kieran Crowley, Shane Daly, John Sheehan, Eamonn Carey, Jack O'Connor, Connor Clarke, Daniel Macbeth, Michael O'Sullivan, John Francis O'Grady, James Lynch; Front Row: Tony Lyons, Neil O'Brien, Johnny Carey, Pierce Tyther, Ronan Sayers, Maurice Foley, Colm O'Shea, David Costelloe, John O'Shea, Adrian Murphy.

Mid Kerry League title goes to Milltown

Milltown/Castlemaine 1-13, Laune Rangers 0-10

Milltown/Castlemaine are Mid Kerry Senior League Champions for 2017 after defeating Laune Rangers in a pulsating final in Beaufort on Saturday evening, having played more than half the game with 14 men following the dismissal of Damien Murphy. Milltown/Castlemaine were without the services of Jonathon O’Sullivan, Mike Burke, and Eoin O’Brien on the day while Laune Rangers had to do without usual starters Aidan Cox, John Tyther, Shane McSweeney, Patrick Carey, Mike Frank Russell as well as County players Peter Crowley and Fiachra Clifford.

Milltown/Castlemaine got off to the better start, leading by 0-3 to 0-2 after ten minutes as Cathal Moriarty, Derek Twiss (free) and Shane Murphy pointing with Colm O’Shea delivering two frees for Rangers in retiurn. Cathal Moriarty saw a shot at goal saved by Tony Lyons before Twiss (free) and Pa Wrenn doubled Milltown’s lead – Milltown/Castlemaine leading by 0-5 to 0-1 with 15 minutes played.

The major talking point of the game followed, as Milltown full back Damien Murphy received a straight red card for an off the ball punch on Rangers’ Shane Daly. Points were exchanged between Colm O’Shea (free) and Derek Twiss, before points for Michael O’Sullivan & Colm O’Shea reduced their team’s deficit to the minimum. However, Milltown/Castlemaine received a huge boost before the break as they found their way through on goal, with a cross-square pass beat Rangers’ covering man Jack O’Connor before Donal Kelliher slammed it into the empty net. Half Time Score:- Milltown/Castlemaine 1-6, Laune Rangers 0-5.

Laune Rangers had the majority of possession in the second half but couldn’t capitalize, as Milltown/Castlemaine stacked their defence and counter-attacked when they had the opportunity. Milltown actually scored the first two points after the restart through Gavin Horan and Pa Wrenn. They matched Rangers on the scoreboard for the remainder of the game as the Killorglin side showed signs of the inevitable unfamiliarity that came with the absence of a number of regular players. Three points from Colm O’Shea (2 frees) were cancelled out by Cathal Moriarty, Gavin McKenna & Pa Wrenn – McKenna’s point standing out as the defender got up from corner back to score.

Connor Clarke scored a well taken point for Rangers before Pa Wrenn nullified it with his 4th point of the day. Colm O’Shea pointed his 6th free – 8th in total – before Donal Dennehy finished the scoring with a final point. Full Time Score:- Milltown/Castlemaine 1-13, Laune Rangers 0-10.

With the winning of the Mid Kerry Senior League Final, Milltown/Castlemaine ended a losing run that began on Easter Sunday when Laune Rangers beat them in the Intermediate Championship.

The Man of the Match award was presented to a deserving recipient in Pa Wrenn after the game, with joint captains Cathal Moriarty & Jeremiah Hayes accepting the Dermot Twiss Memorial Cup from Brendan Twiss.

Milltown/Castlemaine: Cormac Leane, Gavin McKenna (0-1), Damien Murphy, Stephen Roche, Gavin Horan (0-1), John O’Connor, David Roche, Pa Wrenn (0-4), Donal Dennehy (0-1), Paul Carroll, Donal Kelliher (1-0), Shane Murphy (0-1), Jerome Flynn, Derek Twiss (0-3), Cathal Moriarty (0-2). Subs: Seamus Dowd, Jeremiah Hayes, Tadhg McCarthy.

Laune Rangers: Tony Lyons, Ronan Sayers, Johnny Carey, Pierce Tyther, Neil O’Brien, Kieran Crowley, Michael O’Sullivan (0-1), Daniel Macbeth, John Sheehan, David Costelloe, Jack O’Connor, Shane Daly, Colm O’Shea (0-8), Connor Clarke (0-1), John O’Shea. Subs: Eamonn Carey, James Lynch.