Senior‎ > ‎2017‎ > ‎2017 Senior Match Reports‎ > ‎

Mid Kerry O'Sullivan Cup FINAL:- Laune Rangers vs Milltown/Castlemaine. 5/11/2017

posted 5 Nov 2017, 15:00 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 5 Nov 2017, 15:19 ]
Laune Rangers Team that faced Milltown/Castlemaine:- Back (L to R): Connor Clarke, Jason Browne, Eamonn Carey, Gavin O'Shea, James Lynch, Jonathan Carey, Colm O'Shea, John Tyther, Jack O'Connor, John Sheehan, Kieran Crowley, Francis Russell, Michael O'Sullivan, Adrian Murphy.  Back (L to R): Pierce Tyther, Fiachra Clifford, Neil O'Brien, Cian O'Shea, Patrick Carey, Shane McSweeney, David Costelloe, Maurice Foley, Michael Francis Russell, Ronan Sayers, Tony Lyons.

Russell rolls back the years with masterclass

Rangers win O’Sullivan Cup to close out the year.

Laune Rangers 0-18, Milltown/Castlemaine 0-7

The 2017 season came to a close for both Laune Rangers and Milltown/Castlemaine on Sunday afternoon as the two clubs faced off in the Mid Kerry O’Sullivan Cup Final in Glenbeigh. The rules of the tournament saw the County League Division One & Two clubs restricted to just 5 of last year’s Mid Kerry Championship teams, whereas the other clubs were allowed their full complement of players. As a result of this, Laune Rangers were installed as pre-tournament favourites and didn’t disappoint, putting in a strong performance in the Final to pick up a rare O’Sullivan Cup title for the club.

Laune Rangers were a couple of players down – Connor Clarke & Shane Daly were injured & Peter Crowley missed out as he flew out to Australia with the Ireland squad on Sunday morning for the International Rules Series. Rangers were stronger from the outset – Jack O’Connor, Mike Frank Russell (2), Colm O’Shea (free), David Costelloe and Shane McSweeney all notching points to see Rangers take a 0-6 to 0-0 lead after 15 minutes.

Jack McCarthy finally got Milltown/Castlemaine on the board in the 16th minute, but this would prove to be his side’s only score of the first half. A 23rd minute Fiachra Clifford point meant that all six starting forwards for Laune Rangers had scored in the opening half and they didn’t let off there, with John Tyther getting in on the scoring with a left footer with David Costelloe (2, 1 45) and Colm O’Shea (free) adding to their tallies before the break. The posting of a solitary point in the half by Milltown was down in no small part to the Rangers full back line of Sayers, Carey and O’Brien with the assured presence of Tony Lyons behind them. Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-11, Milltown/Castlemaine 0-1.

Milltown/Castlemaine made some changes at Half Time and it was one of those introductions – John McAuliffe – that opened the second half scoring with a point. It was soon cancelled out, however, by another point by the mercurial Mike Frank Russell who was putting on a display that rolled back the years for Rangers. Derek Twiss and Jack McCarthy kicked well taken points for Milltown, scores by Jack O’Connor, Shane McSweeney and Colm O’Shea (free) left Rangers in the lead by 0-15 to 0-4 with fifteen minutes to play.

Derek Twiss and Mike Frank Russell traded points as Rangers began to ring the changes. Donal Dennehy scored an excellent point from a tight angle for Milltown. Replacement goalkeeper Jason Browne was tested in the air a few times and wasn’t phased in the slightest. Mike Frank Russell brought his tally to 6 points before being called ashore, while John McAuliffe slotted the final score of the game. Final Score:- Laune Rangers 0-18, Milltown/Castlemaine 0-7.

An excellent display for Rangers brought the 2017 season to a close on a bright note. The team’s elder statesmen – John Sheehan, Mike Frank Russell & Tony Lyons – drove their team on from the start ably assisted by the experienced Maurice Foley, Johnny Carey and Kieran Crowley. However, following a superb performance that gave him a return of six points from play, it was Mike Frank Russell that was deservedly awarded the Man of the Match after the game.

Mike Frank and John Sheehan now add an O’Sullivan Cup to the long list of medals they have won in their glittering careers.

Laune Rangers Team:- Tony Lyons, Ronan Sayers, Jonathan Carey, Neil O’Brien, Patrick Carey, Kieran Crowley, John Tyther (0-1), Maurice Foley (capt), John Sheehan, Shane McSweeney (0-2), Jack O’Connor (0-2), Michael F Russell (0-6), David Costelloe (0-3, 1 45’), Colm O’Shea (0-3f), Fiachra Clifford (0-1). Subs used: Pierce Tyther for J Tyther, Eamonn Carey for Costelloe, Jason Browne for Lyons, James Lynch for Clifford, Francis Russell for C O’Shea, Gavin O’Shea for MF Russell.

Milltown/Castlemaine Team:- Joe Daly, Stephen Roche, Kieran Carroll, Tadgh McCarthy, Gavin McKenna, Paul Carroll, Seamus Dowd, Donal Dennehy (capt) (0-1), Jack McCarthy (0-2), Nigel Wrenn, Jerome Flynn, John Blennerhassett, Craig Counihan, Derek Twiss (0-2), Alan Hickey. Subs used: Alan Looney for Dowd, Thady O’Sullivan for McCarthy, Jonathon O’Sullivan for Hickey, John McAuliffe for (0-2).

Maurice Foley accepts the O'Sullivan Cup from Mid Kerry Board Chairman Mike Sayers; Mike Frank Russell collects the Man Of The Match award (with the help of his son Adam) from Laura O'Shea of O'Sullivan's Bar, Glenbeigh.