Senior‎ > ‎2017‎ > ‎2017 Senior Match Reports‎ > ‎

County Senior Football League Division Three Round 11:- Annascaul vs Laune Rangers. 03/09/2017

posted 3 Sept 2017, 09:54 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 3 Sept 2017, 09:57 ]

Rangers finish County League campaign with a win

Annascaul 0-8, Laune Rangers 3-13

With the promotion race decided & both teams safe from relegation before the final day, Laune Rangers travelled west to Annascaul for the Round 11 tie of the County Senior Football League Division Three. Both sides were depleted as a result of injuries with, but Laune Rangers were able to call upon Peter Crowley on the day.

Laune Rangers were much stronger from the start, and points from Mike Frank Russell (2) & Shane Daly as well as a goal by John Tyther saw the Killorglin men lead by 1-3 to 0-0 with a quarter played.

Gearoid O’Shea got upfield from the back to open the scoring for Annascaul but it was quickly cancelled out by a well taken John Tyther point. Jason Hickson kicked a brace of points for Annascaul, but sandwiched between them came Laune Rangers second goal – David Costelloe with an excellent finish. Further points for Mike Frank Russell (free) and Shane Daly saw Rangers go into the break with a commanding lead. Half Time Score:- Annascaul 0-3, Laune Rangers 2-6.

Laune Rangers were excellent in the second half, as the full back line of Neil O’Brien, Ronan Sayers & especially Johnny Carey were defiant in stopping any attacking opportunity. Points from David Costello (2), John Tyther & Francis Russell saw the visitors leading by 2-10 to 0-3 with a quarter to play.

Annascaul added points from Genie Farrell (free) and David Clifford, before points were traded between Shane McSweeney & Jason Hickson. John Tyther and David Costelloe added points before Costelloe netted his second and Rangers’ third goal of the game. Hickson and Farrell (free) kicked the final scores of the game for the hosts.  Full Time Score:- Annascaul 0-8, Laune Rangers 3-13.

Annascaul:- Tommy Pierce, Joe Hoare, Gearoid O’Shea (0-1), Fintan Herlihy, David Clifford (0-1), Andrew Finn, Joe Kennedy, Emmett Kennedy, Niall McKenna, James Scanlon, Jason Hickson (0-4), Brian Kennedy, Alan Falvey, Max Kennedy, Genie Farrell (0-2). Subs: Johnny Deane, Johnny O’Driscoll.

Laune Rangers:- Tony Lyons, Ronan Sayers, Johnny Carey, Neil O’Brien, John Tyther (1-3), Kieran Crowley, Pierce Tyther, Peter Crowley, Maurice Foley, Jack O’Connor, Shane McSweeney (0-1), Shane Daly (0-2), Eamonn Carey, Michael F Russell (0-3), David Costelloe (2-3). Subs: James Lynch for Foley, Francis Russell (0-1) for E Carey, Gavin O’Shea for Daly, Darragh Walshe for MF Russell, Jason Browne for Lyons.