Senior‎ > ‎2016‎ > ‎2016 Senior Match Reports‎ > ‎

Mid Kerry U21 Final:- Laune Rangers vs Beaufort 28/2/16

posted 28 Feb 2016, 14:37 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 28 Feb 2016, 14:37 ]

Mid Kerry Under 21 title claimed by Laune Rangers

One-sided victory brings silverware to the Killorglin side


Laune Rangers 2-18, Beaufort 0-6

Spring sunshine greeted the teams in JP O’Sullivan Park on Sunday for the 2016 Mid Kerry Under 21 Championship Final. There were absentees on both sides with Laune Rangers without the services of Aidan Cox, Kevin O’Sullivan & Neil O’Brien through illness/injury, while Beaufort’s marquee forward Liam Carey remains sidelined with injury.

The sides were evenly matched in the opening quarter, as points from Rangers John O’Shea (2 frees) and Daniel Macbeth (from a 45) were met by Danny Healy and Mike Breen points for Beaufort. Laune Rangers showed signs of superiority as the first half progressed, and John Tyther, John O’Shea (2, 1 free) substitute Jamie Clifford, & David Costello points gave the home side the advantage at the break. The Half Time score:- Laune Rangers 0-8, Beaufort 0-4.

Laune Rangers were utterly dominant in the second half. Their lead had doubled by the 40th minute with four unanswered points from Daniel Whittleton (2), Patrick Daly (free) and David Costello giving them a 0-12 to 0-4 lead. Rangers’ then put one hand on the trophy in the 41st minute, when substitute Fiachra Clifford threaded a sublime pass through to Patrick Daly, and the corner forward showed great composure to nestle the ball into the bottom corner. Laune Rangers 2nd goal followed 5 minutes later when Daniel Macbeth smashed the ball into the roof of the net following some nice link-up play with Shane Mangan. This was sandwiched between points from David Costello, John Tyther, Shane Daly and Mangan to give Rangers an insurmountable lead at 2-16 to 0-4. Further points from Pierce Tyther and Patrick Daly (free) were cancelled out by Darragh Coffey (free) and Danny Healy before the final whistle, & Laune Rangers claimed the Mid Kerry Under 21 title for 2016. Full Time score:- Laune Rangers 2-18, Beaufort 0-6.

On a bad day on the field for their side, the always reliable Mike Breen and Danny Healy were best for Beaufort. However, a total team showing produced many great performances for the Killorglin side. Patrick Carey showed great maturity for a young player at corner back, while the midfield pair of Shane Daly and goalscorer Daniel Macbeth dominated the centre of the park. Daniel Whittleton was excellent going forward from wing back and chipped in with two points, but it was the man standing beside him at centre back who stood out, contributing a brace himself while also marshalling his defence. The official Man of the Match award was presented to John Tyther by sponsor Ger Counihan of Bunkers Bar. Mike Sayers, Chairman of the Mid Kerry Board, presented the Eugie Ferris Cup to Laune Rangers captain Shane Daly.

Laune Rangers: Padraig Ahern, Seamus O’Sullivan, George Evans, Patrick Carey, Daniel Whittleton (0-2), John Tyther (0-2), Westley Delaney, Shane Daly (capt) (0-1), Daniel Macbeth (1-1), John O’Shea (0-4), David Costello (0-3), Patrick Daly (1-2), Eric Dunlea, Shane Mangan (0-1), Manus Gallagher. Subs used: Jamie Clifford (0-1), Fiachra Clifford, Cathal Doyle, John F O’Grady, Darragh O’Sullivan, Pierce Tyther (0-1).

Beaufort: Kevin Coffey, Cormac O’Connor, Brendan Cronin, Jonathan Kissane, Conor Cronin, Mike Breen (0-2), Joe Glynwood, Sean Kelliher, Conor Breen (capt), Aaron Foley, Danny Healy (0-3), Ryan Sweeney, Niall O’Connor, Cian O’Sullivan, Darragh Coffey (0-1). Subs used: Shane O’Sullivan, Declan Floyd.