Senior‎ > ‎2016‎ > ‎2016 Senior Match Reports‎ > ‎

Mid Kerry Senior League:- Laune Rangers vs Glenbeigh/Glencar. 6/3/16

posted 6 Mar 2016, 09:29 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 6 Mar 2016, 09:42 ]

Laune Rangers win first game of season

Laune Rangers 0-14, Glenbeigh/Glencar 0-7

Laune Rangers Seniors began the 2016 season on Sunday morning with a Mid Kerry League tie against Glenbeigh/Glencar at JP O’Sullivan Park in terrible weather conditions. Before the game, Maurice Foley was appointed Senior captain for the year, but he was among a number of players unavailable to play through illness or injury. In his absence, this year’s vice-captain Kieran Crowley led the team out. There were two new players in the squad on Sunday. Antrim native Conall Kelly returns to the club having moved back to Killorglin, while Mayo man Paul Larkin made his debut for the club at corner back.

Laune Rangers were first to make a mark on the scoreboard through a Pa Joy point, but Glenbeigh/Glencar responded well & points from Rory O’Connor and Tommy Cahill (free) had the visitors ahead after 6 minutes. A pointed John O’Shea free tied up the scores once more, before Tommy Cahill was fouled inside the square and a penalty was awarded. Kieran Cahalane stepped up to take it but Tony Lyons was equal to it and pulled off a fine save. Two John O’Shea points (1 play, 1 free) gave Rangers the lead by 0-4 to 0-2 after 15 minutes.

Laune Rangers defence began to gain superiority in the second quarter, as Paul Larkin & Tadhg Curran protected their corners well and Conall Kelly settled into centre back. Further points from O’Shea (free) & Pa Joy put Rangers 4 ahead before Glenbeigh corner back Kieran Doyle got forward to point the best score of the half from distance. John O’Shea & Jason McKenna traded points before the teams went for the shelter of the dressing room at Half Time with the score:- Laune Rangers 0-7, Glenbeigh/Glencar 0-4.

A couple of shots went wide of the mark for Rangers, before David Costello scored the first point of the half to increase the home side’s lead. Joe Hayes and his Laune Rangers management team decided to give both goalkeepers a half so Jason Browne stood between the sticks after the break, & was not found wanting when he pulled off a great save from Glenbeigh’s Daniel Griffin shot at point black range in the 37th minute. Rangers now had the momentum and consecutive points from John O’Shea (free), Shane Daly and substitute Westley Delaney put the home side 0-11 to 0-4 ahead with a quarter to play.

The final quarter allowed both sides to introduce substitutes as the game closed out. 3 points each were added to the score – David Costello (2) and Daniel Macbeth with great scores for Rangers while Shane Riordan, Bernard Murphy and Podge Griffin did the honours for Glenbeigh/Glencar. Referee Brendan Twiss blew the full time whistle for a Final Score:- Laune Rangers 0-14, Glenbeigh/Glencar 0-7.

A good opening day for Laune Rangers saw them claim a win, but more importantly give some important game time to players with just a fortnight until the Round 1 of the County League. Seven of the victorious U21 team played following their Mid Kerry Championship victory last week, and their match fitness showed on the day. John O’Shea was reliable as ever on frees and supplemented them with two fine efforts from play. Debutant Paul Larkin and returning Conall Kelly impressed in defence when required in the first half, while the three second half points from David Costello were all excellently taken.

Laune Rangers: Tony Lyons, Paul Larkin, Kieran Crowley, Tadgh Curran, Ronan Sayers, Conall Kelly, John Tyther, Shane Daly (0-1), Daniel Macbeth (0-1), Liam Quirke, Colm O’Shea, David Costello (0-3), John O’Shea (0-6, 4f), Pa Joy (0-2), Gavin O’Shea. Subs used: Jason Browne, Pa Sheehan, Westley Delaney (0-1), Aaron Gamble, Manus Gallagher.

Glenbeigh/Glencar: Donal O’Neill, Kieran Doyle (0-1), Jerry Hoare, Vincent Hoare, Stephen O’Sullivan, Fergal Griffin, Shane Riordan (0-1), Colin McGillycuddy, Jack Brosnan, Rory O’Connor (0-1), Daniel Griffin, Jason McKenna (0-1), Barry Houilihan, Tommy Cahill (0-1), Kieran Cahalane. Subs used: Podge Griffin (0-1), Bernard Murphy (0-1), Calvin Teahan, Daniel O’Connor.