Senior‎ > ‎2016‎ > ‎2016 Senior Match Reports‎ > ‎

County SFL Division Two Round 11:- Laune Rangers vs Glenflesk. 4/9/16

posted 4 Sept 2016, 14:49 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 4 Sept 2016, 14:49 ]

Laune Rangers drop to Division Three

Draw in Final Round sees the Rangers finish in 11th place

Laune Rangers 1-14, Glenflesk 2-11

Laune Rangers will spend 2017 in the third tier of the County Senior Football League, as this year’s competition came to an end on Sunday with a home draw against Glenflesk.

Laune Rangers were bolstered by the return of Peter Crowley to the club jersey, while Glenflesk also had a strong side out with County Junior & U21 players Jeff O’Donoghue, Lee O’Donoghue, & Dara Roche among their ranks.

Laune Rangers shot out to an early four point lead, as a super point from an acute angle by defender Johnny Carey was accompanied by points by Shane Daly, John Tyther & Daniel Macbeth. The lead was nullified in the space of two minutes when a Lee O’Donoghue point was followed by a goal by Dara Roche – the full forward palming the ball to the net following a pass from the afore mentioned O’Donoghue. Roche (2) and Michael O’Shea added points to see the visitors lead by 0-4 to 1-4 after fifteen minutes.

Ronan Sayers got up from full back to score an excellent point for Rangers, but Dara Roche and Lee O’Donoghue (free) added points to their team’s tally soon afterwards. Kieran Crowley blocked down an effort at a point in the 24th minute, only for the ball to fall to Glenflesk’s danger man Dara Roche who sliced through the Rangers defence to finish the ball to the net for his and his side’s second goal. Rangers responded well with points from Colm O’Shea (2 frees) & John Tyther (2) before Lee O’Donoghue added the final point of the half with a successful free. The score at Half Time:- Laune Rangers 0-9, Glenflesk 2-7.

Glenflesk opened the scoring in the second half with another Roche point in the opening minute, but Laune Rangers came back into the game with a strong third quarter. John Tyther & Colm O’Shea (2, 1free) pointed to reduce the deficit to two points before a Laune Rangers goal put Rangers ahead in the 41st minute – Daniel Macbeth palming the ball to the net following a great run up field and pass across the square by Kieran Crowley. With 15 minutes to play, Laune Rangers led by 1-12 to 2-8.

Rangers lost their free taker Colm O’Shea to a black card in the 46th minute, so Peter Crowley picked up the dead ball duty and pointed to double Rangers’ lead. The hosts had to play with 14 men for the final ten minutes though, following the dismissal of Johnny Carey. Daniel Macbeth was quickest to react to a free that dropped short by Peter Crowley and pointed to cancel out an earlier Lee O’Donoghue free to see Rangers remain two points ahead heading into additional time. Lee O’Donoghue made it a one point game with yet another free and, deep in injury time, a quick free for Glenflesk found Jerry Kennedy to tie the game up at the death. Final score:- Laune Rangers 1-14, Glenflesk 2-11.

Lee O’Donoghue and Dara Roche were a thorn in Rangers’ sides throughout this game with all bar two of their side’s scores in the game, with the latter contributing a impressive 2-8 all from play. Shane Daly and Daniel Macbeth played well for Rangers, but John Tyther stood out at the unfamiliar position of centre forward for much of the game who stood out for the home side scoring four points.

Results elsewhere unfortunately meant that Laune Rangers’ result against Glenflesk was trivial. Laune Rangers will play Division Three football in 2017.

Laune Rangers: Tony Lyons, Kieran Crowley, Ronan Sayers (0-1), Johnny Carey (0-1), Mark Healy, Peter Crowley (0-1f), Aidan Cox, Maurice Foley, Conall Kelly, John Tyther (0-4), Shane Daly (0-1), David Costelloe, John Sheehan, Daniel Macbeth (1-2), Colm O’Shea (0-4, 3f). Subs used: Shane O’Connor, Daniel Whittleton, Eric Dunlea, Michael O’Sullivan, Michael F Russell.

Glenflesk: Kenny Cronin, Shane Courtney, Jerry Kennedy (0-1), Sean Lucey, Brian O’Donoghue, Cian Horan, Kieran A O’Donoghue, Padraig Healy, Donal O’Sullivan, Finian Wall, Jeff O’Donoghue, Evan Horan, Lee O’Donoghue (0-5, 3f), Dara Roche (2-4), Michael O’Shea (0-1). Subs used: Gary O’Donoghue, Adam O’Reilly, Liam Warren, Gavin Kelly, Kevin O’Callaghan