Senior‎ > ‎2016‎ > ‎2016 Senior Match Reports‎ > ‎

County SFL Division Two Round 10:- Laune Rangers vs Listry. 16/8/16

posted 16 Aug 2016, 16:02 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 17 Aug 2016, 01:35 ]
The County League Division Two table after Round 10 makes for tough reading.

Home defeat to neighbours for Rangers

Loss to Listry all but sends the Killorglin side to third tier

Laune Rangers 0-9, Listry 0-10 

Another hammer blow came to Laune Rangers on Tuesday evening, as they were defeated by Listry to put one nail in the coffin of their survival hopes in Division Two. Multiple results elsewhere will now have to go Rangers’ way on the final day in order to save the Laune-siders league season.

Laune Rangers started brightly and points from Colm O’Shea (free), Patrick Daly, and a super long range effort from Daniel Macbeth had the home side in the lead by 0-3 to 0-0 after 15 minutes. The visitors then began to take a strangle hold at midfield with Jimmy O’Leary and Billy O’Brien commanding the skies between the 45s. Listry had kicked a number of wides at this point and when they finally found their range they punished Rangers, scoring five unanswered points through Damien Clifford, John Foley (2), Derry Aherne (free) & Anthony Kennedy to take a two point lead. A Damien Clifford free was sandwiched between two by Colm O’Shea to see Listry lead by the minimum at the break. The Half Time score:- Laune Rangers 0-5, Listry 0-6.

Darragh Lehane & Colm O’Shea (free) traded points at the beginning of the second half before Jimmy O’Leary scored a wonderful point from more than 50 metres for the visitors. Listry’s goalkeeper Colm Counihan came up field to score a long range free to increase his team’s lead to three points with 41 minutes played, as Mike Frank Russell made his first appearance in four months from the bench.

Russell had only been on the field for three minutes when a well placed pass by Kevin Flynn found him 40 yards from goal. The great man showed that class is most definitely permanent, when his trademark flick pickup allowed him to round his marker as he headed towards goal before he passed across the square to find Daniel Macbeth. Macbeth’s shot towards the top corner was saved excellently by Counihan to deny the leveller, and leave the visitors ahead by 0-9 to 0-6 with a quarter to play.

Russell got his name on the score sheet with a point before a Colm O’Shea free reduced the gap to the minimum again. Derry Aherne held his nerve to point a 59th minute free for Listry before Mike Frank Russell cancelled it out with a free of his own as normal time expired. Rangers did not get another chance to claim a point though, as referee Paul Hayes blew the final whistle to all but condemn Laune Rangers to Division Three football. Full Time score:- Laune Rangers 0-9, Listry 0-10.

It is hard to pick out positives following a disheartening loss like this one. However, there were six U21s on the starting team and another introduced as a substitute, so the core of the next Laune Rangers team is already beginning to form. On the other end of the age scale, Mike Frank Russell showed glimpses of the class that his team has had to be without for almost the entire 2016 season. While form players Conall Kelly & Mark Healy were missed in their absence for this game, no-one can take away from the display by Listry. Damien Clifford & Derry Aherne were a thorn in the side of the Rangers defence throughout, while wing back John Foley punished the home side twice in the first half with a brace of points. However, the battle in the middle was the divisive one in the match and Jimmy O’Leary gave a midfield master class, adding an excellent point for a stand out performance.

Laune Rangers: Tony Lyons, Ronan Sayers, Aidan Cox, Paul Larkin, Daniel Whittleton, John Sheehan, Kieran Crowley, Maurice Foley, John Tyther, Johnny Carey, Kieran Doona, David Costelloe, Patrick Daly (0-1), Daniel Macbeth (0-1), Colm O’Shea (0-5f). Subs: Kevin Flynn, Michael F Russell, Shane Daly, Pa Sheehan.

Listry: Colm Counihan (0-1), Danny Wrenn, Kieran Murphy, Cian O’Donoghue, Darragh Lehane (0-1), Eoin Dermody, John Foley (0-2), Jimmy O’Leary (0-1), Billy O’Brien, Damien Clifford (0-2, 1f), Paul O’Donoghue, Conor O’Sullivan, Derry Aherne (0-2f), Anthony Kennedy (0-1), Ronan Buckley. Subs: Joseph Clifford, Stephen Brosnan.