Minor‎ > ‎2019‎ > ‎2019 Minor Match Reports‎ > ‎

County Minor League Division One Semi Final:- Laune Rangers vs Rathmore. 14/04/2019

posted 14 Apr 2019, 12:11 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 14 Apr 2019, 12:13 ]
The Laune Rangers Minor Squad that defeated Rathmore on Sunday evening

Laune Rangers 2-10, Rathmore 1-12

Laune Rangers will contest this year’s County Minor League Division 1 Final following defeat of Rathmore in a fantastic battle in JP O’Sullivan Park on Sunday evening.

Rathmore opened the scoring with a point in the second minute, but Rangers had the ideal response, as Gabriel Griffin scored a super goal with a finish to the top corner. A pointed free by Ronan O’Shea was sandwiched between Rathmore points to leave Rangers leading by 1-1 to 0-3 with fifteen minutes played.

Matt Leslie pointed a free for Rangers, but the visitors struck form in the second quarter. They scored three consecutive points to take the lead and, after Ronan O’Shea had pointed a free at the other end, they capitalized on a mistake at the back to hit the back of the net for a goal and a deserved lead at the break. Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 1-3, Rathmore 1-6.

David Mangan scored a fantastic point to open the second half scoring, and Matt Leslie added a free shortly after. Rathmore scored a point, before Laune Rangers scored their second goal of the game – David Mangan tripped in the square for a penalty and Eoin Clifford dispatching low to the corner to give Rangers the lead. After Ronan O’Shea had added a free, Rathmore kicked three points (2 frees) in quick succession to wrestle the lead back by the minimum. With fifteen minutes to play, Rathmore led by 1-10 to 2-6.

Rathmore doubled their lead with another point but Rangers finished strongest. The introduction of Eoghan Hassett into the Rangers forward line caused trouble for the Rathmore defence and they were forced into fouling time and again. Matt Leslie & Ronan O’Shea (2) kicked frees to swing the lead back in the home side’s favour, but Rathmore levelled again with a free in injury time. There was time for a decisive score though, and another foul on the right flank afforded Ronan O’Shea the chance to win the game for Rangers, and he made no mistake in slotting his sixth pointed free. Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 2-10, Rathmore 1-12.

Laune Rangers will face Killarney Legion in the County Division 1 Final with hopes of retaining the trophy won in 2018.

Laune Rangers:- Jack Evans, Seán Cleary, Matthew Reenstierna, Evan Madden, James Hurley, Rory O’Connor, Eoin Clifford (1-0 pen), David Mangan (0-1), Calum Moriarty, Callum Russell, Gabriel Griffin (1-0), Matthew Leslie (0-3f), Shane Doona, Gearóid Hassett, Ronan O’Shea (0-6f). Subs:- Darragh Mangan, Eoghan Hassett.