Minor‎ > ‎2018‎ > ‎2018 Minor Match Reports‎ > ‎

County Minor Football League Division One Round 3:- Laune Rangers vs Kilgarvan/Tousist. 10/03/2018

posted 10 Mar 2018, 13:11 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 10 Mar 2018, 13:30 ]

Minors win in County Minor Division 1

They defeat Kilgarvan/Tousist at home for first League points of season

Laune Rangers 5-14, Kilgarvan/Tousist 3-14

Laune Rangers picked up their first win of the season against Kilgarvan/Tousist on Saturday afternoon in the County Minor League Division One at JP O’Sullivan Park.

Playing into a stiff breeze in the first half, Laune Rangers got off to a solid start and were three points to the good after six minutes – Dáire Cleary, Daragh O’Connor and Kevin Fitzpatrick notching the scores. However, the visitors grew into the game and made full use of the breeze at their backs, scoring five points and a well taken goal during the first quarter. A solitary Dáire Cleary free was added for Rangers in the same period to see Kilgarvan/Tousist lead by 1-5 to 0-4 after 15 minutes.

The visitors increased their lead to six points by the 20th minute as Shane Doona added a point for Rangers, before Laune Rangers got back into the game with their first goal – James Hurley with some great work out of defence, linking up with Mark O’Connor who in turn fed the ball across the square to Ronan O’Shea to tap it in to the net. Kilgarvan/Tousist wasted no time in striking the net again themselves with another cool finish, while Laune Rangers outscored the South Kerry side by 0-3 to 0-2 in the remainder in the half (Dáire Cleary, Shane Doona & Eoin Clifford for Rangers) to see the sides head for the dressing rooms at the break with the Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 1-9, Kilgarvan/Tousist 2-10.

The visitors kicked the first point of the second half, but Rangers reduced the gap to two points with their second goal – Dáire Cleary’s shot ricocheting off the opposition goalkeeper only for Eoin Clifford to tap in the rebound. Cleary cancelled out a pointed free for the visitors with a point of his own from play. Kilgarvan/Tousist scored their third goal in the 42nd minute and added a point soon after to lead by 3-13 to 2-10 with fifteen minutes to play.

Although they were six points behind, Rangers still had the breeze at their backs and refused to let their heads drop. Dáire Cleary and Shane Doona (free) pointed before the home side scored their third goal – Ronan O’Shea applying a cool finish. Following another point for the visitors, Rangers scored their fourth goal from the penalty spot – substitute Gearóid Hassett hauled down in the square and Dáire Cleary dispatching the spot kick to the net to give Laune Rangers the lead. Daragh O’Connor & Ronan O’Shea added points to leave a goal between the sides, but Kilgarvan/Tousist were unable to get the ball to the opposite end of the field due to the work rate of the Rangers middle eight. A great interception by Rory O’Connor won possession back before the home side worked forward and found Shane Doona who finished off a fine performance with a fifth goal for Rangers to ensure the win. Final Score:- Laune Rangers 5-14, Kilgarvan/Tousist 3-14.

2017 All Ireland Minor winner Donal O’Sullivan was simply immense for Kilgarvan/Tousist and showed form that would give any Senior defender in the county nightmares. However, Rangers showed great team spirit and outscored the visitors by 2-4 to 0-1 in the final quarter. Sean Arthurs, & James Hurley provided physicality at the back, while Dáire Cleary, Ronan O’Shea and Shane Doona were lethal at the front (combining for 4-10). However, the O’Connor brothers Rory & Daragh linked up well time and again with big brother Daragh in particular standing out for Rangers.

Laune Rangers Team:- Jack Evans, Oisín Daly, Sean Arthurs, Evan Madden, Rory O’Connor, David Mangan, James Hurley, Daragh O’Connor(0-2), Kevin Fitzpatrick (0-1), Ronan O’Shea (2-1), Dáire Cleary (1-6, 1p 2f), Gabriel Griffin, Mark O’Connor, Eoin Clifford (1-0), Shane Doona (1-3, 1f). Subs: Gearoid Hassett for Griffin, Matthew Leslie for O’Connor; Sean Cleary.