Minor‎ > ‎2017‎ > ‎2017 Minor Match Reports‎ > ‎

Mid Kerry Minor Championship FINAL:- Laune Rangers vs Beaufort. 30/10/2017

posted 30 Oct 2017, 13:14 by Laune Rangers

Laune Rangers taste Minor glory

Rangers recover from slow start to claim Mid Kerry Minor title

Laune Rangers 2-13, Beaufort 1-12

Laune Rangers bridged a three year gap by defeating Beaufort in the Mid Kerry Minor Championship Final on Monday afternoon.

Played in Paddy Burke Memorial Park, Milltown in perfect weather conditions, the game saw Beaufort come flying out of the blocks as a flat Laune Rangers side struggled to keep up with them. A Paudie Coffey free and Jack O’Connor point for Beaufort were met by a well taken Cian O’Shea point from distance in return for Rangers. However, some errant defence by Rangers led to mix-up at the back allowing Dylan O’Sullivan a tap in for a Beaufort goal. Two Padraig Cronin points and a Ciarán Kennedy free saw Beaufort leading by 1-5 to 0-1 after fifteen minutes, although it could have been worse but for a fine save by Padraig Ahern from Paudie Coffey in the lead-up to Kennedy’s pointed free.

A Cian O’Shea pointed free was followed by a goal chance for Rangers as Eoin Evans won the ball well at the edge of the square and turned his marker before blasting the ball just over the crossbar for a point. Rangers didn’t have long to wait for a goal though, as a fantastic team move saw Patrick Carey work upfield with the aid of some excellent passing through Fiachra Clifford, Mark O’Connor and Dáire Cleary before the captain cooly slotted the ball to the net. Ciarán Kennedy pointed a free, but his marker at midfield Eoin O’Sullivan began to gain superiority in the middle and it allowed Rangers drive on with points from Daragh O’Connor & Dáire Cleary to level matters. Rangers took the lead in the 25th minute with a Shane Doona point but it was reversed by points from Ciarán Kennedy and Padraig Cronin soon after. However, All Ireland Minor winner Fiachra Clifford levelled matters with a super score on the last kick of the first half. Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 1-8, Beaufort 1-8.

Points were traded in the early stages of the first half between Cian O’Shea & Ciarán Kennedy (free), before 15 year old Jack O’Connor scored an excellent point to give Beaufort the lead once more. The score was soon tied up again though, as Fiachra Clifford kicked another great point. With a quarter to play, the scores were level at 1-10 apiece.

Laune Rangers would have been disappointed with their return from the third quarter of play, as the majority of the period was spent in the Beaufort half but they could not exert their dominance onto the scoreboard. However, a stroke of luck saw Rangers take the lead with a second goal, as a long ball into the small square by Roan Moriarty was sent into the net by Beaufort defender Kealan Cahill – the method of the goal somewhat lucky for Rangers but it was much deserved following a sustained period of attacking pressure.

Shane Doona added a point, before midfielder Eoin O’Sullivan scored a deserved point for his efforts from the right flank. Padraig Cronin and Ciarán Kennedy (free) pointed to leave a goal between the sides. A late effort at goal for Beaufort was cleared off the line by Dáire Cleary to save Rangers. Five minutes of additional time would follow, but Rangers maintained their cool and held on to the ball to run down the clock, and Dáire Cleary pointed the insurance score following some excellent possession play by his teammates. The final whistle was blown to see Laune Rangers take the Derry O’Sullivan Shield for the first time since 2013. Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 2-13, Beaufort 1-12.

Best for Beaufort on the day were Jack O’Connor and Padraig Cronin, while their talisman Ciarán Kennedy was unerring from placed ball. For Rangers, half backs Daragh O’Connor, Patrick Carey and first half sub David Mangan drove Rangers forward from the back, with Carey’s goal easily the score of the game. However, the stand out performer was Eoin O’Sullivan, who won his battle with Kennedy in the midfield with some sublime fielding throughout.

After the game, Eoin O’Sullivan was presented with the official Man of the Match award sponsored by MF Decorating. Laune Rangers captain Patrick Carey was presented with the Derry O’Sullivan Memorial Shield by Mid Kerry Board Chairman Mike Sayers.

Laune Rangers Team:- Padraig Ahern, Sean Arthurs, Conor Murphy, Evan Madden, Daragh O’Connor (0-1), Patrick Carey (capt) (1-0), Kevin Fitzpatrick, Eoin O’Sullivan (0-1), Roan Moriarty, Cian O’Shea (0-3, 1f), Dáire Cleary (0-3, 2f), Shane Doona (0-2), Mark O’Connor, Eoin Evans (0-1), Fiachra Clifford (0-2). Subs used:- David Mangan for Fitzpatrick, Eoin Clifford for Evans, James Hurley for Mangan, Oisín Daly for Shane Doona. Unused: Ciarán Foley, Keelin Houlihan, Rory O’Connor, Darragh O’Shea, Ronan O’Shea, Kieran Whittleton.

Beaufort:- Sean Coffey, Rory Clifford, Ian McGillycuddy, Kealan Cahill, Liam Curran, Shane O’Sullivan Rouse, Ciarán O’Sullivan, Jonathan Kissane (capt), Ciarán Kennedy (0-5, 4f), Patrick Crehan, Dylan O’Sullivan (1-0), Jason Coffey Hallissey, Paudie Coffey (0-1), Padraig Cronin (0-4), Jack O’Connor (0-2). Subs used: William Joy for C O’Sullivan, Eoin O’Hagan for P Coffey. Unused: Jack Hallissey, Jack Sweeney, Keith Suter, Mark Doona, Mark Neary, Michael O’Shea, Oisin O’Connor.