Minor‎ > ‎2017‎ > ‎2017 Minor Match Reports‎ > ‎

County Minor Championship Round 3:- Dingle vs Laune Rangers. 11-07-2017

posted 11 Jul 2017, 17:36 by Laune Rangers
Laune Rangers Minor Squad that faced Dingle

Rangers exit Minor Championship following defeat at Dingle

Dingle 1-17, Laune Rangers 2-11

Laune Rangers’ County Minor Championship campaign ended on Tuesday evening, following a heartbreaking injury time loss to Dingle in Páirc an Athasigh. The home side were without injured County Minor panellist Mark Ashe, while Laune Rangers took the field without midfield pairing Darragh & Eoin O’Sullivan (injured), Sean Arthurs (suspended) and Kevin Fitzpatrick (work commitments).

The reshuffling of the line-up for Rangers led to a sluggish start, and Ruadhan McCarthy capitalized by pointing Dingle ahead in the first minute. Rangers settled into the game and – with the breeze at their backs – they scored points from Shane Doona (2) and Mark O’Connor to take the lead. Dingle starlet Dylan Geaney notched his first point before Rangers hit the net for the first time – Shane Doona sending a high ball into the square towards full forward Eoin Evans, only to see it beat Evans as well as the Dingle full back and goalkeeper and bounce into the net. Rangers followed up the goal with a Dáire Cleary pointed free before Dingle struck back with a goal of their own, as Luke O’Connell received a quick passed free and slotted it to the net. With a quarter of the game played, Laune Rangers led by 1-5 to 1-2.

Mark O’Connor and Ruadhan McCarthy exchanged points, but scores became hard to come by in the second quarter. Dáire Cleary (free) and Shane Doona points were cancelled out by scores by Dylan Geaney and Christopher Kane for Dingle before the short whistle to see the visitors take a two point lead into the break. Half Time Score:- Dingle 1-5, Laune Rangers 1-7.

Dingle opened the scoring in the second half through Ruadhan McCarthy before Rangers responded with a point from Gabriel Griffin, who was introduced shortly before the break. Geaneys Niall & Dylan pointed to bring Dingle back level, before Cian O’Shea kicked the visitors ahead with an excellent point into the breeze. The 39th minute brought Laune Rangers’ second goal, as Gabe Griffin’s deflected shot crept just under the crossbar. Griffin pointed again soon after to increase Rangers’ lead to five points, but Thomas Devane responded with an excellent point to leave Rangers ahead by 2-10 to 1-9 with a quarter to play.

The breeze behind the Dingle team picked up significantly for the latter stages of the game, and this gave the hosts the boost they needed, as Laune Rangers struggled to craft any scoring chance of note. Dingle scored points through Dylan Geaney, Ruadhan McCarthy and Christopher Kane before Eoin Clifford scored a super score for Rangers. This point would prove to be Rangers’ last though, as they struggled to clear their lines against the wind. The loss of Roan Moriarty to injury late on didn’t help Rangers’ cause, as the home side’s confidence grew. As the regulation 30 minutes of the second half expired, Laune Rangers still led by 2 points, but there was plenty of time remaining for the home side. They hit five points through Ruadhan McCarthy (2) and Thomas Devane (3) to take the lead for the first time since the second minute. The final whistle was blown to see Rangers’ Minor Championship end in disappointment. Full Time Score:- Dingle 1-17, Laune Rangers 2-11.

Laune Rangers’ Championship comes to an end on an evening where they missed their four absentees, but every player that took the field did themselves proud – a number of them Under 16s making a big step up. Conor Murphy, Evan Madden, Cian O'Shea and Shane Doona excelled for Rangers, with Gabe Griffin following up his 'super sub' role in Round 1 with another great display from the bench.

Dingle progress to the Quarter Final stages, with some stand out performers. Ruadhan McCarthy and Dylan Geaney were on hand to score some excellent points, but Thomas Devane put in a big performance and scored all three points in injury time that ultimately made the difference on the scoreboard and this trio ended with 14 points between them.

Interestingly, of the 3-28 scored on the night, all bar three points came from play in a pulsating game.

Dingle: Eoin Brosnan, Sean Boland, Seán Óg Moran, Colin Moriarty, Donnacha Sugrue, Niall Geaney (0-1), Luke O’Connell (1-0), Brian O’Connor, Thomas Devane (0-4), Dylan Geaney (0-4), Ruadhan McCarthy (0-6), Deividas Uosis, Conor Flannery, Dean Hilliard, Christopher Kane (0-2). Subs: Joe Saunders, Eoghan Hoare.

Laune Rangers: Padraig Ahern, Oisin Daly, Conor Murphy, Darragh O’Shea, Patrick Carey, David Mangan, Evan Madden, Roan Moriarty, Fiachra Clifford, Cian O’Shea (0-1), Daragh O’Connor, Dáire Cleary (0-2), Mark O’Connor (0-2), Eoin Evans, Shane Doona (1-3). Subs: Gabriel Griffin(1-2), Eoin Clifford (0-1), Ronan O’Shea.