Minor‎ > ‎2017‎ > ‎2017 Minor Match Reports‎ > ‎

Central Region Minor Division One Final:- Laune Rangers vs Kerins O'Rahillys. 9/9/17

posted 9 Sept 2017, 14:26 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 11 Sept 2017, 06:04 ]

Central Minor Title for Rangers

Laune Rangers 1-11, Kerins O’Rahillys 0-4

Laune Rangers are the Central Region Minor Division 1 Champions for 2017, following the defeat of Kerins O’Rahillys in the Final in Austin Stack Park on Saturday. Laune Rangers took the field without Fiachra Clifford, who is preparing for the All Ireland Minor Final next week. Injuries to Darragh O’Sullivan, Conor Murphy and David Mangan ruled the trio out also.

A low scoring first half saw no score at either end until the 7th minute – Cian O’Shea slotting a free to give Rangers the lead. A Mark O’Connor shot had been saved well by Tom Houston in the Rahillys goal a couple of minutes earlier, but the wind blowing against Rangers brought with it sheets of rain that limited scoring chances for Rangers in particular. Roan Moriarty got forward from midfield to kick a well taken point. Rahillys got off the mark with a converted free from Darragh Fitzgerald, and with 15 minutes played, Rangers led by 0-2 to 0-1.

Shane Doona kicked an excellent point from the left flank, before Cian O’Shea & Gabriel Griffin added points to increase Rangers lead. A second Darragh Fitzgerald free was added by Rahillys to leave the Tralee side trailing by three at the break. Rahillys had created a number of chances in the first half, but they saw shots go wide as a result of sustained pressure by the Rangers defence who kept Strand Road scoreless from play in the half. Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 0-5, Kerins O’Rahillys 0-2.

Another heavy rain shower at the beginning of the second half made playing conditions very difficult, and was the 41st minute before the first score of the half came – Dáire Cleary slotting a point for Rangers. Cian O’Shea pointed soon after to leave Rangers leading by 0-7 to 0-2 with a quarter to play.

Darragh Fitzgerald kicked his side’s first point from play in the 49th minute, but it was soon cancelled out by another great point by Shane Doona. Shane McElligott pointed a free for Rahillys in the 51st minute, but that would prove to be Strand Road’s final point of the game as Rangers kicked on to claim the title. Points from Shane Doona, Eoin Clifford & Dáire Cleary (free) stretched the lead before substitute Eoin Clifford slotted a cool finish to the net to add gloss to the scoreboard. Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 1-11, Kerins O’Rahillys 0-4.

Although 1-3 was put up in the final 5 minutes, Laune Rangers were full value for the win in this Final. The defence was outstanding, never allowing an easy shot to the opposition which kept Rahillys to one point from play after a number of forced wides. Eoin O’Sullivan & Roan Moriarty won the midfield battle, making some excellent catches in a difficult day for fielding. The forwards had tough day at the office due to the weather, but they put together some great pieces of play, with Cian O’Shea & Gabriel Griffin creating chances from deep on the flanks.

The ‘stand out player’ title in this game is shared between two players for varying reasons. The team captain Patrick Carey was outstanding at centre-back, combining defensive duties with go-forward drive throughout the game. Shane Doona wasted very little of the ball he received in the game, and kicked three points from the top drawer at key moments of the game.

Laune Rangers:-
Padraig Ahern, Sean Arthurs, Kevin Fitzpatrick, Evan Madden, Daragh O’Connor, Patrick Carey (capt), Oisin Daly, Eoin O’Sullivan, Roan Moriarty (0-1), Cian O’Shea (0-3, 1f), Dáire Cleary (0-2, 1f), Gabriel Griffin (0-1), Mark O’Connor, Eoin Evans, Shane Doona (0-3). Subs: Eoin Clifford (1-1) for Evans, James Hurley for Daly, Rory O’Connor for D O’Connor, Keelin Houlihan for Cleary, Darragh O’Shea for Arthurs.

Kerins O’Rahillys:- Tom Houston, Jordan Foley, Sean Collins, Aidan Mangan, Deaglan Crowe, Rory O’Connor, Quinn O’Hallorhan, Sean Griffin, Kevin Browne, Darragh Fitzgerald (0-3,2f), Gearoid Dillane, Aaron Roche, Cillian Gallagher, Shane McElligott (0-1f), Conor Hayes. Subs: Sean Duggan, Barry Foley, TJ McMahon, Thomas White, Lee Browne.