Minor‎ > ‎2016‎ > ‎2016 Minor Match Reports‎ > ‎

County Minor League Round 5:- Laune Rangers vs Killarney Legion. 08/04/2016

posted 8 Apr 2016, 14:01 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 10 Apr 2016, 08:30 ]
Laune Rangers Minor team on Friday evening

Bad day at the office for Minors

Resounding loss at home to Legion ends County League campaign

Laune Rangers 1-7, Killarney Legion 2-18

Laune Rangers hosted Killarney Legion on Friday evening with a Semi Final place in the County Minor League to be claimed with a victory. Unfortunately, they didn’t perform anywhere near to their best and by the time they scored their first point in the 14th minute, they had already conceded 1-4 as the visiting side had the aid of a considerable breeze at their backs. The second part of the opening half was much the same, with Legion outscoring Rangers by six points to one. Both of Laune Rangers’ scores came from Fiachra Clifford (1 free, 1 play). The score at Half Time:- Laune Rangers 0-2, Killarney Legion 1-10.

By the time Laune Rangers reappeared after the break, the wind that had blown against them in the early part of the first half had all but gone. Points by Dáire Cleary & Cian O’Shea were cancelled out by Legion before Rangers were reduced to 14 players in the 44th minute. Kevin Fitzpatrick received his marching orders with a straight red card for a ‘professional foul’ inside the square & with it, Legion were awarded a penalty which was duly dispatched. From there, the sides played out the game as points from Fiachra Clifford, Patrick Daly (both frees) and Kealan Houlihan, were cancelled out by a further six from Legion. Rangers were able to put some gloss on the scoreboard with a late penalty as Jamie Clifford was fouled inside the square, & Patrick Daly found the net with the final kick of the game. The Final Score:- Laune Rangers 1-7, Killarney Legion 2-18.

Laune Rangers: Padraig Ahern, Pierce Tyther, Kevin Fitzpatrick, Darragh O’Shea, Darragh O’Sullivan, Patrick Carey, Conor Murphy, Fiachra Clifford (0-3, 2f), John F O’Grady, Cian O’Shea (0-1), Patrick Daly (1-1), Daragh O’Connor, Dáire Cleary (0-1), Kealan Houlihan (0-1), Jamie Clifford. Subs: Ciarán Foley, Oisín Daly, Roan Moriarty.