2015 U14 County League. Laune Rangers v Kenmare & Austin Stacks v Laune Rangers - 29/4/15

posted 29 Apr 2015, 16:31 by Laune Rangers

Both Laune Rangers U14 teams through to latter stages of County League.

Blue side defeat Kenmare, while White side overcomes Austin Stacks.

Laune Rangers Under 14 Boys had two teams playing the final round of the County League on Wednesday evening. The ‘Blue’ Team faced Kenmare in Killorglin in Division 1. Following a great first half performance where any advantage from the cross-field breeze would have slightly favoured the home side, Laune Rangers led by 3-11 to 1-4 at half time – the goals coming from Gearoid Hassett, Shane Doona & Stephen Sealey. Kenmare, however, were much improved in the second half & managed to find the net four times in this period. Rangers stemmed the tide though, and goals from Gearoid Hassett and David Mangan ensured that they stayed ahead through to the final whistle and won on a scoreline of:- Laune Rangers 5-14, Kenmare 5-7. The forward set all contributed greatly, with Jack Evans scoring 5 points on the evening and setting up many more scores for others, while Shane Doona caused havoc to the Kenmare defence at every opportunity. Roan Moriarty fielded some great ball at midfield, while Conor Burke excelled at wing back in this great team win.
Blue Panel: Ronan Fitzpatrick, Rory O’Connor, Evan Madden, Cormac Doyle, Conor Burke, Gabriel Griffin, James Hurley, Roan Moriarty (0-1), David Mangan (1-1), Gearoid Hassett (2-0), Shane Doona (1-4, 3f), Ronan O’Shea (0-3, 2f), Stephen Sealey (1-0), Jack Evans (0-5), Eoin Clifford; Timmy O’Shea, Dean Callan

The Laune Rangers Under 14 White Team had an excellent victory away to Austin Stacks on a scoreline of 4-6 to 1-10. This victory was primarily due to the determined efforts of each player who turned a 5 point deficit with 7 minutes to go into a 5 point win at full time. 3 goals scored by Matthew Leslie and Cian Naylor were crucial in handing Rangers a well deserved win.
White Panel: Cian Naylor, Dara Mangan, Stephen O' Sullivan, Niall Fenton, Sean Cleary, James Byrne, Peadar Foley, Matthew Leslie, Martin Fay, Jack Carey, Tiernach O' Shea, Nathan Houlihan, James Clifford, Barry Moriarty, Matt Reinsteiner.

Both Teams have qualified for the knockout stages of their respective County Leagues, with the particulars yet to be confirmed.