2015 Mid Kerry Under 14 Finals. 25/10/2015

posted 30 Oct 2015, 14:18 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 30 Oct 2015, 14:36 ]

Laune Rangers - the Mid Kerry Under 14 'A' Champions 2015

Laune Rangers and Milltown/Castlemaine clashed in the Mid Kerry U14A final held in Keel last Sunday. Having played each other in the John Egan tournament as well as in the earlier rounds of the Mid Kerry championship, both sides were well acquainted with each other and a keen battle was expected. That is exactly how it transpired with Rangers winning on a scoreline of 3-7 to 1-6. Playing into a strong breeze, Rangers carried the fight to Milltown from the start and - aided by an early Ronan O Shea goal after Milltown keeper Alex O Connor made a superb save - it settled the Rangers lads. With Roan Moriarty and James Hurley on top in midfield, some good ball was going into the dangerous inside forward line of Jack Evans, Eoin Clifford and Gearoid Hassett with strong running from the half forward line of O Shea, Shane Doona and Gabriel Griffin. A feature of the first half was the good marking by the Rangers backline also with David Mangan, Conor Burke and Cormac Doyle snuffing out a lot of the Milltown/Castlemaine attacks. Special mention also must go to stand in goalkeeper Barry O Connor who was rock solid in goals. Rangers had the lead by a goal at the break. Half Time Score: Laune Rangers 1-3, Milltown/Castlemaine 0-3.
The Milltown/Castlemaine half time team talk had the desired effect and, with David Leane starting to get into the game, they were level 10 minutes in having scored a goal after incisive work through the middle. Laune Rangers regrouped and - with Shane Doona spraying some great ball around and taking a couple of scores himself - Rangers began to find openings. Firstly, Gearoid Hassett sped through the middle and as O Connor advanced he slipped the ball to Eoin Clifford who had the easiest of tasks in scoring from a couple of yards out. With Rangers sensing victory, Clifford again was at the end of a good team move involving almost every player on the team to rattle the net and secure victory. The back-line ensured there was no late drama with Timmy O Shea and David Mangan repelling a lot of the Milltown/Castlemaine attacks and Rangers scoring a screamer of a long distance point from substitute Dean Callan. Referee Billy O'Shea blew the final whistle, which sparked great celebrations amongst the team and mentors alike. Mid Kerry Bord na nÓg Secretary Mags Evans presented the Under 14 Mid Kerry championship trophy Laune Rangers captain, Jack Evans. Full Time: Laune Rangers 3-7, Milltown/Castlemaine 1-6.
Everybody played their part and it’s testament to the development of the squad throughout the year that there were no standout individual performances on the day but rather a pretty complete team performance. Barry O’Connor performed admirably in goals at short notice. The backs were sound throughout with Evan Madden, Cormac Doyle and Conor Burke keeping it tight at the back. David Mangan and Timmy O Shea provided great attacking threat from the half back positions while James Hurley and Roan Moriarty more than held their own at midfield. The Rangers forwards were efficient in their finishing and a real addition to their play on the day was the tackling and turnovers on the Milltown defence as they came out with the ball.
Team and substitutes: Barry O’Connor, Conor Burke, Evan Madden, Cormac Doyle, Peadar Foley, David Mangan, Timmy O Shea, Roan Moriarty, James Hurley, Ronan O Shea, Shane Doona, Gabriel Griffin, Gearoid Hassett, Jack Evans, Eoin Clifford, Rory O’ Connor, Dean Callan, Steven Sealey, Sean Cleary, Matthew Leslie, Nathan Houlihan.

Laune Rangers Under 14 White team unfortunately lost their Mid Kerry C final against Glenbeigh/Glencar on a scoreline of 4-8 to 2-11 on Sunday afternoon. This was a closely fought game throughout. Laune Rangers made the brighter start due to the accurate point taking of Matthew Leslie and a Gearoid Hassett goal. Glenbeigh responded strongly towards the end of the first half and led by 2 points, 2-4 to 1-5. Ten minutes into the second half Hassett struck for a second goal which gave Rangers a lead they would hold until 3 minutes from time when a scoring burst of 1-1 from Glenbeigh gave them the decisive advantage. Rangers almost grabbed a draw but the Glenbeigh keeper made an excellent save to deny Matthew Leslie. Great credit has to go to the development panel who, despite today's result, have had an outstanding year.
Panel: Stephen O Sullivan, Patrick Brennan, James Byrne, Niall Fenton Toms, Sean Cleary, Callum Moriarty, Stephen Sealy, Rory O' Connor, Callum Russell, Barry O' Connor, Gearoid Hassett, Dean Callan, Nathan Houlihan, Matthew Leslie, Tiernach O' Shea, Cian Naylor, Mikey O' Donnell, Darragh Mangan, Darragh Callan, Daniel Evans.

Congratulations also must go to the Under 14 management team of Paudie O Shea, Glenn Evans, Tony Lyons, Mike Moriarty, Patsy Joy, Mark O’Connor, Gearoid Clifford, Fergus Clifford, Robbie Evans who deserve great credit for their work throughout the year. The work between both teams and management contributed in all players having a successful year with this team playing in the final of every competition it entered while the development team won its own County League earlier in the year.