2015 Mid Kerry Minor Final Replay:- Laune Rangers vs Milltown/Castlemaine. 24/1/16

posted 24 Jan 2016, 17:20 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 24 Jan 2016, 17:22 ]

The Laune Rangers Minor team who were defeated in Sunday's Mid Kerry Final Replay.

Laune Rangers 0-7, Milltown/Castlemaine 2-10

The long awaited Mid Kerry Minor Final Replay took place in Beaufort on Sunday afternoon, with Laune Rangers facing Milltown/Castlemaine again following the drawn game in December. The young Laune Rangers side went into the game without three key players from the first meeting – Patrick Daly, Neil O’Brien, and Darragh O’Sullivan. Rangers got off to a great start and points from Dáire Cleary and John Francis O’Grady put them into the lead. An attacking move for Rangers was broken down by the Milltown/Castlemaine defence who swept upfield and found Eoin O’Brien to score a goal and take the lead. Milltown found some momentum and had a 3 point lead by the break – Cian Bradley, Kieran Griffin, David Roche and Eoin O’Brien (free) pointing for Milltown while Patrick Carey pointed for Rangers. Half Time score: Laune Rangers 0-4, Milltown/Castlemaine 1-4.

Milltown/Castlemaine managed to press on in the second half and, aided by a Michael Dennehy goal, closed out the game. While Rangers scored points through Fiachra Clifford (2, 1 free) and Daniel Whittleton (free), six points from the Milltown/Castlemaine side saw them run out winners. Final Score: Laune Rangers 0-7, Milltown/Castlemaine 2-10. While these players will be greatly disappointed with the loss, all but 4 of them will have at least one more opportunity to compete at Minor level.

Laune Rangers: Robert Lynch, Pierce Tyther, George Evans, Patrick Carey (0-1), Jesse McCormack, Cathal Doyle, Daniel Whittleton (0-2f), Kevin Fitzpatrick, John Francis O’Grady (0-1), Cian O’Shea, Fiachra Clifford (0-2, 1f), Dáire Cleary (0-1), Daragh O’Connor, Jamie Clifford, Manus Gallagher. Subs: Paddy Collins, Christian Fleming, Darragh O’Shea.

Milltown/Castlemaine: Cormac Leane, Sean O’Dea, James O’Connor, Ciarán O’Connor, Oltan Heffernan, Aaron O’Brien, Cian Bradley, David Roche, Kieran Griffin, Michael Dennehy, Eoin O’Brien, Tadhg McCarthy, Niall Sertutxa, Padraig O’Brien, Craig Counihan. Sub: Daniel Cronin.