2015 Feile Peil na nOg - 18th April 2015

posted 18 Apr 2015, 14:39 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 19 Apr 2015, 15:05 ]

above: Our U14s in action in the Féile final on Saturday.

Dr Crokes win Féile Peil na nÓg Chiarraí 2015

Killarney side defeat Laune Rangers in final in Killorglin

The final stages of the Kerry Féile Peil na nÓg took place on Saturday afternoon last, with Semi finals and Final left to play in full-rules games of 15 minutes a half. Laune Rangers hosted Killarney Legion in Killorglin in the Semi Final and following the concession of an early goal, Rangers rallied and had got the scores level by half time; 0-5 to 1-2. The home side dominated the second half and a Gearoid Hassett goal with 3 minutes to play put Rangers 5 ahead. Legion tacked on a final point but Rangers held on to make the full time score Laune Rangers 1-7, Legion 1-3 and qualified for the final. Dr Crokes defeated Kenmare in the other semi final in Listry and travelled on to JP O’Sullivan Park for the Féile final. Semi-final scorers: Gearoid Hassett 1-0, Gabriel Griffin 0-2, Shane Doona 0-2, Barry O’Connor 0-2, Ronan O’Shea 0-1.

Dr Crokes got the upper hand in the final and led by 2-1 to 0-1 at half time, leaving Rangers with an uphill battle in the second half. A defensive formation by Crokes after the break added to Rangers task and while they managed to keep Crokes scoreless, they only managed to put three points on the scoreboard to lose on a final score of Laune Rangers 0-4, Dr Crokes 2-1. Scorers: Shane Doona 0-2, Jack Evans 0-1, David Mangan 0-1.

This was an unfortunate result for Laune Rangers as they played some fine football, but a far more physical Dr Crokes side did enough to hang on to become Féile Peil na nÓg Chiarraí champions.

Panel: Cian Naylor, Rory O’Connor, Evan Madden, Conor Burke, Eoin Clifford, David Mangan, Ronan O’Shea, Roan Moriarty, James Hurley, Sean Cleary, Timmy O’Shea, Shane Doona, Barry O’Sullivan, Gabriel Griffin, Jack Evans, Gearoid Hassett, Martin Fay, Cormac Doyle, Steven Sealey, Stephen O’Sullivan, Nathan Houlihan, Jack Carey, Peadar O’Sullivan, Matthew Leslie, Dean Callan, Tiarnach Clifford, Niall Fenton Toms.