2015 County Minor League. Laune Rangers v John Mitchels – 17/4/15

posted 19 Apr 2015, 14:50 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 19 Apr 2015, 15:08 ]

above: Laune Rangers' Neil O'Brien on the ball against John Mitchels on Friday evening

Laune Rangers hosted John Mitchels in the fifth and final round of County Minor League on Friday evening. In glorious sunshine, the home side opened the scoring in the first minute, when a Patrick Daly free fell short and the alert full forward John Christopher O’Brien fisted it to the roof of the net. The dominance continued for Rangers, and by the time John Mitchels registered their first score of the game, Rangers had pointed through O’Brien, Fiachra Clifford, Neil O’Brien & Patrick Daly (3) to make the score after 20 minutes: Laune Rangers 1-6, John Mitchels 0-1. The game was effectively finished as a contest by half time, as goals from Daniel Whittleton & Patrick Daly & two more Daly points gave Rangers an imposing lead at the break. The score at half time was Laune Rangers 3-8, John Mitchels 0-1.

John Mitchels rallied in the second half, and scores were exchanged twice by Mitchels and Rangers’ Patrick Daly in the early part of the second half. The score of the game, however, was Rangers’ fourth goal. A well placed John Francis O’Grady pass was punched on by Patrick Daly into the path of Fiachra Clifford, who sold the ‘keeper a dummy with an excellent shimmy and tapped to the vacant net in the 36th minute. That would be the home side’s final score, as Mitchels added four points to their scoreline before the long whistle. The score at Full Time: Laune Rangers 4-10, John Mitchels 0-7.

Laune Rangers: Robert Lynch, Pierce Tyther, George Evans, Patrick Carey, Darragh O’Sullivan, Manus Gallagher, Daniel Whittleton (1-0), Neil O’Brien (0-1), John Francis O’Grady, Fiachra Clifford (1-1), Jamie Clifford, Cian O’Shea, Paddy Collins, John Christopher O’Brien(1-1), Patrick Daly(1-7). Subs used: Padraig Ahern, Darragh O’Shea, Aidan O’Sullivan, Eoghan O’Sullivan, Christian Fleming.