Féile Peile na nÓg 2018

posted 2 Jul 2018, 06:27 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 2 Jul 2018, 07:24 ]

Friday, June 29th - Burren GAA Grounds, Co Down

Laune Rangers made their return to Féile Peile na nÓg on Friday evening in tropical conditions in County Down. However, they were drawn in a very tough group that contained Down’s regular representatives & reigning Féile Champions Burren as well as perennial contenders New York. Laune Rangers faced both of these sides on Friday evening, and the physical superiority by both opponents is mainly what caught out the Rangers side.

Burren were hosting the group stage event on Day One and had a big home support. They were the better side from the start and came out winners on a scoreline of 6-7 to 1-3. Eoin Loughran of Burren put on a masterclass in the game, and is definitely one to look out for in the Minor Class of 2020/2021.

Laune Rangers then had to pick themselves up to take on New York in the second game of the competition. Rangers played much better in the second game, putting some excellent play together at stages of the game but again, they were unable to contain the physical speed, size and strength of the Americans. New York came out on top in the end by 6-9 to 3-3.

Saturday, June 30th - Clonduff GAA Grounds,
 Co Down

Laune Rangers then faced their host club Clonduff on Saturday morning, and a strong performance in the 5 minutes either side of Half Time in particular put the Killorglin men in the driving seat. They led by 1-2 to 0-2 at the break, as Eoghan Hassett netted a great goal and Cillian Foley scored two points. Jack O’Sullivan added two frees after the break, while Eoghan Hassett pointed before scoring his second goal. Clonduff came back into the game scoring a couple of goals in the second half, but Laune Rangers were the better side in all. Final Score:- Clonduff 2-5, Laune Rangers 2-9.

Photo credit: Clonduff GAC. Check out their Facebook page for more!

The team the faced into a Quarter Final on Saturday afternoon against Carryduff (Down), which was played in Clonduff. Laune Rangers were much the stronger from the outset in this game. They led by 6-3 to 0-2 as two Adam Owens penalties complemented goals from Jack O’Sullivan, Eoghan Hassett, Darragh O’Grady & Darragh Evans, while Hassett added two frees and John Burke pointed. The second half was less one-sided in the 30° heat. Both sides scored a goal in the second half – Jack O’Sullivan slotting a penalty for Rangers. Jack also pointed two frees in the second half to see Rangers home. Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 7-5, Carryduff 1-4.`

Féile Division 1 Shield Quarter Final 1st Half

Féíle Division 1 Shield Quarter Final 2nd Half

Sunday, July 1st - Stamullen GAA Grounds, Co Meath

This saw Rangers leave their hosts in Clonduff and travel south for Sunday’s Division 1 Shield Semi Final in Stamullen, County Meath, against Galway Champions Claregalway, who were another physically strong side. Rangers had to make do without Adam Owens, who picked up an injury in the Quarter Final on Saturday afternoon. Laune Rangers had the benefit of the breeze in the first half and took a seven point lead into the break, as points from Eoghan Hassett (2), Joe Cronin Langham & John Burke were added to by goals from Hassett and Darragh O’Grady (penalty). Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 2-4, Claregalway 0-3.  Watch the First Half action here

Rangers stretched the lead early in the second half with points by Jack O’Sullivan (free) & Eoghan Hassett but momentum swung the way of Claregalway who scored two goals in quick succession to leave three points between the sides. Hassett pointed another free for Rangers but this would be their last score of the game as they struggled to clear their lines for the remainder of the game with an stronger breeze blowing against them. Claregalway scored a third goal and pointed to level matters. With seconds left on the clock, the tribesmen kicked the winning point to bring Laune Rangers campaign to an end. Full Time Score:- Claregalway 3-5, Laune Rangers 2-7.   Watch the Second Half action here

Claregalway went on to win the Division 1 Shield, defeating Laune Rangers’ host club Clonduff in the Final.

The Féile Peile na nÓg Division 1 title was won by Derry club O’Donovan Rossa, who beat New York and Burren in the Semi Final and Final.

It was ultimately a disappointing end to a great weekend for all at Laune Rangers. All 24 players got significant game time through the five games, and all handled themselves well among the best teams in the country in the Division 1 competition.


The Club was blown away by the amount of support that travelled to the opposite end of the country. Parents, siblings, & relatives travelled in huge numbers, while a number of supporters with no familial connection to the squad made the trip to cheer on their clubmates – something that the team and club are truly grateful for.

Huge Credit must also be given to the Clonduff club and host families, who gave the team an experience that will live long in the memory. Of course the high temperatures made for a holiday atmosphere for all the supporters, but the two venues – Burren & Clonduff – were well equipped and prepared to deal with it.

Thanks must go to all the businesses and individuals that provided sponsorship/donations that funded the trip to Féile, which included an overnight stay in Dublin on Thursday night. Without this financial assistance, the trip simply could not have taken place.

The Final word of thanks goes to the parents who came on board nine weeks ago to organise the trip to Féile. Bord na nÓg Chairman John Clifford & Secretary Paudie Lynch were joined by the Bainistóir Billy O’Sullivan, Diarmuid O’Sullivan, Nuala Johnston, Helena Buckley, Gina Foley, Niall O’Meara, Aidan Spillane, Gavin O’Grady, & Seán Moriarty who all contributed to the Fundraising & Operational organization of the event.

Laune Rangers Féile Squad:- Cillian Buckley, John Burke, Adam Carey, Joe Cronin Langham, Ryan Diggin, Darragh Evans, Cillian Foley, Eoghan Hassett, Eoghan Joy, Eoin Lynch, Jack Lynch, Oisin Lynch, Tim Mangan, Cathal O’Callaghan, Darragh O’Grady, Senan O’Meara, Aona O’Shea, Ciarán O’Sullivan, Jack O’Sullivan, Adam Owens, James Prendiville, Killian Spillane, John Tuohy, Tom Whittleton.