Mid Kerry Under 14 'A' Final:- Laune Rangers vs Keel/Listry. 24/9/2017

posted 24 Sept 2017, 12:00 by Laune Rangers

Under 14s retain Mid Kerry Title

Laune Rangers 5-13, Keel/Listry 2-10

Laune Rangers Under 14 Boys finished their season by completing a ‘5 in a row’ of Mid Kerry Under 14 titles on Sunday afternoon, following victory over Keel/Listry in ‘A’ Final at Paddy Burke Memorial Park in Milltown.

Marc Clifford kicked an excellent point in the opening minute for Rangers to put the first mark on the scoreboard for the day, but Keel/Listry hit the net just two minutes later – Aaron O’Shea with an excellent soccer-style finish to the top corner following some great work by Aodán Murphy. A Callum Russell free Rangers was nullified by two frees for Aaron O’Shea at the other end. Shane Evans got up from wing back to kick a nice point from play for Keel/Listry, but it was soon matched by an equally impressive point by Marc Clifford for Rangers to leave Keel/Listry leading by 1-3 to 0-3 with 15 minutes played.

Aaron O’Shea & Adam Owens traded frees before Laune Rangers took control of the game for the remainder of the first half. Callum Russell and Adam Owens (2, 1 free) points levelled the scores before Owens scored Rangers first goal to put them back in the lead. Two further goals before the break through Jack Healy and Callum Russell gave Rangers a nine point lead at the short whistle. Half Time Score:- Laune Rangers 3-7, Keel/Listry 1-4.

Keel/Listry gave themselves a boost as they scored a goal through Dylan Moriarty in the first minute of the second half, but they were unable to build on it as the next score came in the form of Rangers’ 4th goal through Adam Owens. Mikey O’Donnell, Tom Whittleton, Darragh Mangan and Callum Russell (free) all added points to put Laune Rangers ahead by 4-11 to 2-4 with a quarter to play.

Rangers got a fifth goal through team captain Mikey O’Donnell and added points from Calum Moriarty & Eoghan Hassett (free), while Keel/Listry added 6 more points before the end through Aaron O’Shea (5, 3 frees) and Dylan Moriarty. The Final Whistle was blown to see Laune Rangers crowned Mid Kerry Under 14 ‘A’ Champions for the 5th successive year. Full Time Score:- Laune Rangers 5-13, Keel/Listry 2-10.

Laune Rangers:- Jake Reinstierna, James Byrne, Patrick Brennan, Cathal Crowley, Darragh Mangan (0-1), Matt Reinstierna, James Treacy, Callum Russell (1-3, 2f), Calum Moriarty (0-1), Ryan Diggin, Mikey O’Donnell (capt) (1-1), Marc Clifford (0-2), Jack O’Sullivan, Jack Healy (1-0), Adam Owens (2-3, 2f). Subs: Ciarán O’Sullivan, Tom Whittleton (0-1), Darragh O’Grady, Eoghan Hassett (0-1), Aona O’Shea, Sean Twiss, Daniel Evans, Darragh Callan, Killian Spillane, Eoin Lynch, Cillian Buckley, Jack Foley, Cillian Foley.

Keel/Listry:- Jack O’Leary, Conor Crowley, Oran Hilliard, Eden Murphy, Shane Evans (0-1), Tadgh Evans, Aaron O’Donoghue, Aaron O’Shea (1-8, 6f), Keith Evans, Dáire Murphy (jt capt), Joe Clifford, Michael Keane, Aodán Murphy, Lachlan Griffin, Dylan Moriarty (jt capt) (1-1). Subs: James O’Dowd, Conor O’Dowd, Mason Courtney, JJ Moriarty, Stephen O’Brien, Evan O’Connor, Jake O’Reilly, Jack Lawlor, Luke Benson.