County Under 14 Leagues Division One and Division Nine Finals:- Laune Rangers vs Austin Stacks 24/5/17

posted 24 May 2017, 15:56 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 28 May 2017, 08:49 ]

Losses in County League Division One and Nine Finals for Under 14s


Kilcummin was the venue for the Finals of the Less Strand County Under 14 Leagues Divisions One and Nine on Wednesday evening, with Laune Rangers facing off with Austin Stacks in both games.



Austin Stacks 5-17, Laune Rangers 3-13

A nightmare start for Rangers saw Austin Stacks score three goals in the opening five minutes of the Division One Final, with a fourth goal coming after Eoghan Hassett had pointed for Rangers. Tom Whittleton, Adam Owens & Mikey O’Donnell points were cancelled out by three by Stacks to see the Tralee side leading by 4-3 to 0-4 with 15 minutes played.

Stacks pressed their advantage further with three points and a 5th goal by the 20th minute as Callum Russell pointed a solitary effort for Rangers in the period. Laune Rangers improved late in the half and pointed through Eoghan Hassett ( 2 frees) and Callum Moriarty – all goal chances as the ‘no penalty’ rule at Under 14 level saw Rangers fouled multiple times in the square with a 13 metre free the only reward. Rangers hit the net twice late on though, with Adam Owens finishing well on both occasions to reduce the deficit going into the break, as Stacks had used up all of their allotted five goals allowed at U14 level also. Half Time Score:- Austin Stacks 5-8, Laune Rangers 2-8.

Stacks matched Rangers with 0-3 a piece in the third quarter – Eoghan Hassett (2), & Adam Owens pointing with the Launesider scores as Stacks maintained a 5-11 to 2-11 lead. Owens completed a hat-trick for Rangers with points also coming from Owens and Eoghan Hassett, but the big, physical Stacks side were far too strong for the young Rangers team on the day. They added 6 more points as Rangers were chasing goals to close out a comfortable win. Full Time Score:- Austin Stacks 5-17, Laune Rangers 3-13.

Laune Rangers ‘Blue’: Jake Reenstierna, James Byrne, Patrick Brennan, James Treacy, Tom Whittleton (0-1), Matt Reenstierna, Darragh Mangan, Calum Russell (0-1), Ryan Diggin, Mikey O’Donnell (0-1), Calum Moriarty (0-1), Jack O’Sullivan, Eoghan Hassett (0-6), Adam Owens (3-3), Marc Clifford. Subs: Darragh O’Grady, Jack Healy, Aona O’Shea, Cathal Crowley. Squad: Ciarán O’Sullivan, Daniel Evans, Sean Twiss, Eoin Lynch, Killian Spillane, Cillian Foley, Cillian Buckley.


Austin Stacks 2-14, Laune Rangers 2-9

Much like the Division One Final, the Division Nine encounter – played earlier in the evening in Kilcummin – saw a couple of early goals for Stacks leaving Laune Rangers chasing the game. Austin Stacks led by 2-3 to 0-2 after 15 minutes – Darragh Evans pointing twice for Rangers. Points by Cillian Foley and Adam Carey were cancelled out by Stacks in the second quarter to see the Rock maintain their lead into the break. Half Time Score:- Austin Stacks 2-5, Laune Rangers 0-4.

Stacks scored three consecutive points at the start of the second half to stretch their lead, but Rangers had the better of play for the remainder of the third quarter and points from Darragh O’Grady (2 frees), Darragh Evans & Eoin Lynch brought them back into the game. Rangers efforts upfield in attempt at goal left them exposed at the back, and Stacks scored five points in the latter stages to secure the win, with Darragh O’Grady pointing a free for Rangers during this time. Darragh O’Grady and Darragh Evans scored two fantastic goals to reduce the gap, but it was to no avail as Stacks had enough to hang on and win. Full Time score:- Austin Stacks 2-14, Laune Rangers 2-9.

Laune Rangers ‘White’: Jack Foley, Cillian Buckley, Aona O’Shea, Barry Moriarty, Killian Spillane, Cathal Crowley, Ciarán O’Sullivan, Dara Callan, Eoin Lynch (0-1), Daniel Evans, Cillian Foley (0-1), Joe Cronin Langham, Adam Carey (0-1), Darragh Evans (1-3), David Crowley. Subs: Darragh O’Grady (1-3), Sean Twiss, Senan O’Meara. Squad: Eoghan Joy, Killian Moriarty, Oisin Lynch, Jamie Healy, Ryan McCormack, James Prendiville, Gearoid Prendiville, Hugh Fitzpatrick, Oisin Flynn, Dara Joy.