County Under 14 League Divisions 1 & 9 Round 4:- Laune Rangers vs Ballymacelligott. 26/4/17

posted 26 Apr 2017, 15:39 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 26 Apr 2017, 15:52 ]
Laune Rangers Under 14 Blue Team that faced Ballymacelligott in Round 4 of the County League Division 1 on Wednesday evening

Laune Rangers two U14 teams in action

Laune Rangers’ two Under 14 teams were in County League action on Wednesday evening, with games against Ballymacelligott in both Divisions 1 and 9 with one win and one loss on an evening where 40 players at the Under 14 age grade played in the club jersey.

DIVISION ONE: Laune Rangers 5-14, Ballymac 2-6

In Division One, Laune Rangers Blue Team defeated Ballymac with a strong second half performance in JP O'Sullivan Park. The sides were level at 1-1 apiece after 15 minutes after a first minute goal by Marc Clifford and a pointed free from Callum Russell were cancelled out. Adam Owens and Tom Whittleton both applied great finishes to great team moves for a brace of goals before Owens and Marc Clifford (free) added points. Tom Whittleton netted his second goal from a rebound after Ryan Diggin had struck the posts before the break, while Ballymac scored two points in the second quarter. Half Time score:- Laune Rangers 4-3, Ballymacelligott 1-3.

Laune Rangers kept Ballymac scoreless for 18 minutes of the second half, as astute defending from Cathal Crowley, Patrick Brennan & co cut out the visitors’ attack time and again. Callum Russell (3, 1 free), Calum Moriarty (2), Darragh O’Grady, Marc Clifford & Mikey O’Donnell (free) all pointed while O’Grady also netted Rangers’ fifth goal in the period to leave Laune Rangers leading by 5-10 to 1-3 with 12 minutes to play.

Ballymac doubled their total score in the final minutes with a final 1-3, while Rangers added final points from Darragg O’Grady, Calum Moriarty & Jack Healy before the final whistle. Full Time Score: Laune Rangers Blue 5-14, Ballymacelligott 2-6.

Laune Rangers Blue: Jake Reenstierna, Cathal Crowley, Patrick Brennan, James Treacy, James Byrne, Darragh Mangan, Ryan Diggin, Callum Russell (0-4), Matt Reenstierna, Mikey O’Donnell (0-1), Calum Moriarty (0-3), Tom Whittleton (2-0), Jack O’Sullivan, Adam Owens (1-1), Marc Clifford (1-2). Subs: Darragh O’Grady (1-2), Jack Healy (0-1), Sean Twiss, Ciarán O’Sullivan, Aona O’Shea.

DIVISION NINE: Laune Rangers 3-3, Ballymac 4-7

In Division Nine, Laune Rangers White were defeated by Ballymac. Having played against a tough breeze in the first half, Rangers trailed by 1-2 to 0-1 at the break. Ballymac scored three goals in quick succession early in the second half to take a commanding lead, but Laune Rangers battled back bravely to score three goals themselves through Oisin Lynch (2) and Daid Crowley. Ballymac did enough to take a deserved win away from Cloon. Full Time score: Laune Rangers White: 3-3, Ballymacelligott 4-7

Laune Rangers White: Jack Foley, Darragh Evans (0-1), Cillian Buckley, Barry Moriarty, James Prendiville, Eoin Lynch, Senan O’Meara, Cillian Foley (0-1), Killian Spillane, Eoghan Joy, Joseph Cronin Langham, David Crowley (1-0), Oisin Lynch (2-0), Adam Carey (0-1), Jamie Healy. Subs: Cathal O’Callaghan, Cillian Moriarty, Hugh Fitzpatrick, Gearoid Prendiville, Oisin Flynn.