Under 14 County League Div 1:- Laune Rangers vs Killarney Legion. 30/03/2016

posted 30 Mar 2016, 13:53 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 30 Mar 2016, 13:53 ]
Laune Rangers 3-8, Killarney Legion 4-11

Laune Rangers Under 14s began their season on Wednesday evening with a County League Division One tie at home to Killarney Legion.

The sides were evenly matched through the opening stages until the 15th minute, when two quick-fire goals from the Killarney side gave the visitors a 2-4 to 0-2 lead, with Matthew Leslie and Gearoid Hassett slotting the early points for Rangers. Laune Rangers closed out the first half the strongest though, and six unanswered points through Matthew Leslie (2), Marc Clifford, Mikie O’Donnell, Niall Fenton Toms & Gearoid Hassett left just two points between the sides at the break. The Half Time score:- Laune Rangers 0-8, Killarney Legion 2-4.

A strong start to the 2nd half restored Legion’s advantage, as the visiting side scored two more goals as well as three points before Gearoid Hassett scored Laune Rangers’ first goal in the 41st minute. Another Legion point followed before Rangers were awarded a penalty, which was duly dispatched by Calum Russell to put leave the home side trailing by 4-8 to 2-8 with 15 minutes to play.

Sustained pressure from Laune Rangers led to their third goal – Sean Twiss putting the finishing touch to the ball to leave just three points between the sides – but this was to be Laune Rangers final score of the game. Legion tagged on three final points to win the Round 1 tie. Final Score:- Laune Rangers 4-11, Killarney Legion 3-8.

There were plenty of positives to take from the opening day defeat. Corner backs Patrick Brennan & Matt Reinstierna were solid in their first step up to U14 Division 1 football. Gearoid Hassett was dangerous throughout, while Matthew Leslie scored three well taken points in the first half & his move to midfield at the break brought him into the game from deeper in the second half.

Laune Rangers: Jake Reinstierna, Matt Reinstierna, Stevie O’Sullivan, Patrick Brennan, Sean Cleary, Cian Naylor, Callum Moriarty, Rory O’Connor, Calum Russell (1-0), Matthew Leslie (0-3), Gearoid Hassett (1-2), Niall Fenton Toms (0-1), Mikey O’Donnell (0-1), Darragh Mangan, Marc Clifford (0-1). Subs used: Shogie O’Sullivan, Oisin Flynn, Sean Twiss (1-0), Daniel Evans, James Tracey