County Under 14 Division Nine Final:- Laune Rangers vs Renard. 11/5/16

posted 11 May 2016, 16:36 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 12 May 2016, 03:43 ]

Laune Rangers Development Team win County Division Nine

Enthralling game goes to extra-time in Glenbeigh

Laune Rangers 6-16, Renard 5-17 

Laune Rangers Development Team finished off a fantastic County League campaign with a Division Nine title in Glenbeigh on Wednesday evening. The game was played at 13 a side and 25 minutes per half.

Much like their previous encounter in the league stage the previous month, Renard got off to a flying start & raced into a five point lead in the opening five minutes. It only took Rangers another five minutes to level the game at 0-5 a piece, the pick of them from Cathal Crowley who passed a 45 to Martin Fay and received it back to kick it over the bar from distance. However, all their hard work was undone in a few short minutes as Renard scored 3 goals in quick succession to put them nine points ahead.

Laune Rangers closed out the half the stronger side and apart from a solitary Renard point, Rangers were able to eat into the deficit before the break. A Dara Callan goal was sandwich between four points – Callum Russell (3 frees) and Mikey O’Donnell, to just trail by three points at the short whistle. The Half Time score:- Laune Rangers 1-9, Renard 3-6.

There was still just three points between the sides at the half way point of the second half, as both sides added four points to their score – Callum Russell (3 frees) and Mikey O’Donnell getting the scores. Renard dealt the Launesiders another blow with their fourth goal and added three points in quick succession to leave them nine ahead with just 5 minutes to play.

Amazingly, Laune Rangers did not allow their heads to drop, and goals from Callum Moriarty & Eoin Hassett brought them back into the game, while Hassett also scored an important point to cancel out an earlier one from Renard. Laune Rangers got the ball forward for a lost roll of the dice in injury time, and Darragh Mangan shot for the all important equalizing goal. The full time whistle was blown and following a discussion with coaches and the County Board’s representative, clarification was struck that extra time would be played. The score at the end of normal time:- Laune Rangers 4-15, Renard 4-15.

Rangers had the lead at the break in extra time, after Eoin Hassett added another goal and point to his own tally while Renard pointed twice. Half time in Extra Time:- Laune Rangers 5-16, Renard 4-17.

As could be expected, the final 8 minute period was a humdinger. Dara Callan put the Killorglin side in prime position with his second goal of the night, but Renard responded with a goal of their own to leave those still sitting on the edge of their seats. The defensive wall held firm though, and the final whistle finally arrived to give Laune Rangers the County Division Nine title. Final Score:- Laune Rangers 6-16, Renard 5-17.

Renard’s players were dejected following the game, and nobody could blame them as they had performed excellently themselves. Inside forwards Ronan & Sean Teahan caused havoc throughout, while Brendan Kelly is definitely a name to look out for in future years.

It is difficult to pick out the best of the Rangers as there was so many that shone on the evening. At the back, Daniel Evans and Cathal Crowley were excellent, while Shogie O’Sullivan grew into the game and was a big defensive rock in extra time. Callum Moriarty left everything on the field while Darragh Callan’s two stints on the field – in normal & extra time – saw him net two goals and Mikey O’Donnell kicked three great points and assisted in many more. Callum Russell finished up with 0-8 from frees, but it was the electric display of Eoin Hassett after he came on that lit up the game. The Under 12 forward finished with 2-3 and played no small part in the team’s victory. Joint Captains Martin Fay & Tiarnach O’Shea accepted the trophy from County Board representative Mary Jo Curran after the game.

Laune Rangers Team: Jack Foley, James Byrne, Shogie O’Sullivan, Patrick Brennan, Daniel Evans, Cathal Crowley (0-1), Callum Russell (0-8f), Sean Twiss, Darragh Callan (2-0), Callum Moriarty (1-0), Mikey O’Donnell (0-3), Martin Fay (0-1), Mark Clifford. Subs used: Oisin Flynn, Darragh Mangan (1-0), Eoin Hassett (2-3), Matt Reinstierna, James Treacy. Panel: Tiarnach O’Shea, Barry Moriarty, Jack Healy, Adam Owens, Aona O’Shea, Ryan Diggin, Jack O’Sullivan, Darragh Evans, Joseph Cronin-Langham.